We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Seated...only decent part”

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #89 of 387 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Came here while shopping at the mall for convenience because we were hungry. Quickly seated outside (very small location compared to others) and greeted quickly to take our drink order. The drinks came pretty quick as well as our app but the food seemed to take a long time. Ordered their new ultimate Bloody Mary because of the interesting toppings of olives, herbs, spicy pepperoni and mozzarella. When it arrived it had just a lime (what did the bartender think he was making a margarita?) I pointed this out and told they didn’t have the toppings for the drink. WTH? This is a pizza joint that all those toppings go on but yet not the drink? I should have sent it back but chose to drink it. Bad choice watered down and no flavor a waste of $10. Will never be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Same as any other California Pizza Kitchen. Had the Waldorf Salad which is very tasty but over-priced at $15 in my opinion. Sitting outside was pleasant. Good, attentive service.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Was not impressed by restaurant layout. Indoor atmosphere was stuffy. The outside seating was right by the parking lot, but given good weather we found it pleasant. The food while standard fare was very good and the service was very good to excellent.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank ams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Tables were available outside at about 2 pm on this high-60s day, so we opted for outdoor seating. The table was in the shade. We got to feeling a bit chilly as we finished our meal and thought we should have gotten inside seating. Then we went inside and found out what cold really was. The air conditioning was really cranked up. So... if this makes a difference to you, you might want to pay attention to the two temperatures before choosing seating (or bring a light jacket). The strawberry mango cooler was mostly strawberry, but refreshing. My wife and I had "duos," where we could choose a small pizza with soup or salad or half sandwich. Both were fine. Our granddaughter had a ban mi bowl which she enjoyed. Service was slow and not overly attentive. It seemed like the restaurant was not adequately staffed for the number of parties present. Definitely cozy seating on the inside. This was our second visit. The first, a year or so ago, was a good experience overall. Those of us from out of state blanch at the prices -- about $50 for lunch for 3 of us -- but one has to come to grips with the fact that everything is relatively expensive here in California.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Arriving at 8.30pm we we're immediately met with "kitchen closes at 9pm" and sitting in a booth they could not guarantee food so sit at counter if you want to eat.
So not the greatest start but we we're hungry so picked to sit at counter. Don't sit here if you want to be able to have a conversation as the noise from kitchen was ridiculous. Do so many pots and pans have to be banged and thrown around.
Anyway we ordered two appetisers and a pizza and agreed for all to be delivered at the same time as the time pressure was mentioned again.
After a little while we we're informed that they we're all out of the cauliflower starter so we ordered something else.
It's now 8.55pm and I noticed our pizza was never put in the oven never mind made. Then to top it all the waiter returned to say(10 mins later) they we're all out of another one of our appetisers.
You guys are a disgrace and really should not be involved in the service industry. Don't stay open till 9pm if realistically you shut down at 8.30pm. Also ironically don't open a restaurant if you can't provide food.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Trishap6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing