We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Expextations”
Review of The Melt Stanford

The Melt Stanford
Ranked #157 of 376 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

I used to love what the Melt used to be. I always hope that it will one day wake up and revert back to its original concept.

Nope.

Still burger priced sliders. Expensive French fries. And basic grilled cheese. It's called the Melt. It used to have multiple grilled cheese options. How can you get rid of your core concept?! I'm all for expanding....but getting rid of your main menu is just poor business planning. Explains why the Cupertino branch isn't very successful.

Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadja e, customer rep at The Melt Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Samantha,
You're right, we have changed a lot over the years. We are listening to our customer feedback and embrace changes as a way to improve our products and services and to stay competitive in the fast-casual industry. One thing that stayed constant is our core values and commitment to serving awesome, really happy food. We still have the Classic Grilled Cheese, Mac Daddy, Italian Job, Egg-in-a-Hole, and added Patty Melt and Queso De Mayo on the menu. Fries, Salad, Mac n Cheese as side option and variety of Milkshakes to choose from. Based on guest feedback, we also have the best burger in San Francisco made from Angus and Wagyu Beef.
We value your feedback and we hope to win back your positive sentiments in the future.
Best,
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

S small restaurant is reasonable in an area that doesn't offer lots of those p,aces. Order at the counter, great kids offerings, and delivery was quick.

Thank parrotheadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadja e, other at The Melt Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello,
We're grateful for your business and the time you took to share this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I had the Italian Job and it was delicious. In addition to the expected melted cheese, there were mushrooms and seasoned grilled bread. Yum! The nice little surprise were the delicious french fries. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Playball925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadja e, customer representative at The Melt Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hello,
Thank you for being a fan! Italian Job Grilled cheese and fries are my personal favorite too! Try the Italian job with tomato soup next time you visit. It is BOMB!!!
Until then, you take care!
Best,
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Minnie & Max The Pugs posts make "The Melt" look so great that we just had to visit and experience it for ourselves. How I wish that The Melt existed in Sydney so that we can have the same here. It was delicious all round! YUMMMM!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BestFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Hello,
We are so honored to have been part of your San Francisco experience and we hope to serve you again the next time you are in town. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to stay tuned for our new locations. Who knows, perhaps we will pop up in Sydney:). Take care!
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

The patty melt was delicious. Could have used more caramelized onions. Ice tea was refreshing too! Wish we had one in Maui. Would be nice to have gluten free options.

Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 30 August 2017

Mahalo! Thank you for being a fan of Patty Melt. For future, please do not hesitate to request for extra caramelized onion or any toppings for that matter. Our crew will be more than happy to fulfill your request. Thanks for dropping by.
Regards,
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melt Stanford also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to The Melt Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing