We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
coast_to_coast_250
Victoria, Canada

Excellent Location, Comfortable Stay

Review of Desert Hills
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 6, 2024
Excellent location in Palm Springs, walking distance to many restaurants. It is a small, quiet, mid-century place. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff and management are professional and pleasant. There were a couple of minor things to be fixed, but with the planned renovations, this place will be perfect. We look forward to retuning again to Desert Hills. We had a small, basic room for the one night, but would consider booking another for a longer stay.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
₱8,672
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,672
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,671
  • Vio.com
    ₱8,671
1.3 km from Desert Hills
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
₱7,333
  • BestWestern.com
    ₱7,333
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,333
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,332
0.7 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Jacuzzi
Booking.com
₱4,488
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,180
  • Agoda.com
    ₱3,707
  • Priceline
    ₱5,179
1.8 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Caliente Tropics Hotel
Booking.com
₱7,212
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,537
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱6,790
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,507
2.4 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
SAGUARO
Booking.com
₱5,727
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱6,215
  • Agoda.com
    ₱5,186
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,727
3.1 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱9,196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    ₱7,817
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,513
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱6,836
2.9 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
Ace Suite Patio
Booking.com
₱10,868
₱9,560
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,560
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,558
  • Priceline
    ₱9,558
2.5 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
Booking.com
₱7,866
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,865
  • travelup.com
    ₱7,338
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱7,809
0.9 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
₱22,787
  • Hotels.com
    ₱22,812
  • Expedia.com
    ₱22,844
  • Priceline
    ₱22,782
0.5 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palm Springs
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
147
23
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
147
23
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub retro cool vintage hotel single story private patio great amenities four nights nice size housekeeping staff comfy bed in downtown palm springs kitchenette pool mcm hideaway backdrop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 180 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2023 via mobile

The mid-century room was clean, spacious, quiet, and had a fully equipped kitchen. Bed was comfortable and lots of water pressure in the shower. Staff were friendly, helpful and good problem-solvers, especially Brian. Lots of little amenities, like snacks and water. This small boutique hotel is as good as any 3 or 4 star we've stayed in. We'd love to come back.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 766noral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2023

Rocketmiles F*cked my reservation up and there was not a room at the Hideaway for me because of their lack of communication. Robert had no reason to accommodate me, but he took it upon himself to fix their mistake and provide me with an amazing room at their sister place “Desert Hills”. I was blown away by the accommodation……..2 star….more like 5 stars. Place was amazing in every way. They even had my favorite skincare brand Beekman 1802. Thank you Robert!!!! The aesthetic and cleanliness of the room was unparalleled; even the bar ware was top notch. Highly recommend.

Room tip: Book this
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cesar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 1, 2023

This was my second time staying at Desert Hills. Both of my stays here were great. In both cases I stayed in their vintage rooms which are charming, super clean, in excellent condition, and a true step back in time to the 1950s. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. I didn't use the pool on either visit, but it really is inviting.
I also love the location of this hotel. The hotel is set against the backdrop of the beautiful desert mountains near the end of Arenas Drive. It's a few blocks west of Palm Springs' main shopping and dining strip, making it very convenient for just about everything.
I will definitely return to Desert Hills (hopefully very soon!)

Room tip: I haven't seen their modern rooms, but the vintage rooms are excellent!
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 29, 2023 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at how spacious and clean the rooms were. Yes, the rooms are dated, but the location and price are worth it. The pool area is very quiet and not suitable for guests looking for a wild or lively atmosphere. Would stay here again.

Room tip: Parking on site, quiet hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Codyz404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2023 via mobile

We had four criteria for our Palm Springs hotel: Adult only; Kitchenette; Small size; and Hot tub. Desert Hills is single story. Just 20 rooms. We stayed in Studio 2 which is gorgeous with a very comfy bed and generously sized kitchen. It was furnished just as beautifully as the pictures and sparkling clean. We were sold on it when we saw it has a “private” patio. The pool is a nice size with plenty of shade and quiet. We did enjoy the barbecue with all the necessary tools and accessories.
Unfortunately, the hot tub was a busted hole in the ground surrounded by caution tape. While the room’s rear patio was nice for dining, it was not appropriate for sunbathing as there is a connecting path in the back rather than a wall. Overall the property is clean but needs repairs (holes in stucco walls, pool needs resurfacing, etc.). I hope the owners appreciate their exceptional housekeeping staff and invest in more freshening because Desert Hills is a gem in a great neighborhood.

Room tip: The fountain by rooms 1, 2, & 3 is a hummingbird magnet and a delightful place to sip coffee and watch wildlife in the morning.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Traveler28470923204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews