We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cesar s

Amazing property and people

Review of Desert Hills
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 27, 2023
Rocketmiles F*cked my reservation up and there was not a room at the Hideaway for me because of their lack of communication. Robert had no reason to accommodate me, but he took it upon himself to fix their mistake and provide me with an amazing room at their sister place “Desert Hills”. I was blown away by the accommodation……..2 star….more like 5 stars. Place was amazing in every way. They even had my favorite skincare brand Beekman 1802. Thank you Robert!!!! The aesthetic and cleanliness of the room was unparalleled; even the bar ware was top notch. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: Book this
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱8,414
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Desert Hills
Pool
Restaurant
₱7,201
  • Booking.com
  • BestWestern.com
    ₱7,201
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Caliente Tropics Hotel
₱7,138
₱6,266
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱6,266
2.4 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
₱7,952
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
SAGUARO
₱5,451
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱18,240
₱16,416
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱18,240
2.6 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Front
₱5,242
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.4 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱10,518
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,426
  • Official Site
2.9 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
Interior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,813
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palm Springs
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
147
24
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
147
24
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub retro cool vintage hotel single story private patio great amenities four nights nice size housekeeping staff comfy bed in downtown palm springs kitchenette pool mcm hideaway backdrop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 181 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2023

This was my second time staying at Desert Hills. Both of my stays here were great. In both cases I stayed in their vintage rooms which are charming, super clean, in excellent condition, and a true step back in time to the 1950s. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. I didn't use the pool on either visit, but it really is inviting.
I also love the location of this hotel. The hotel is set against the backdrop of the beautiful desert mountains near the end of Arenas Drive. It's a few blocks west of Palm Springs' main shopping and dining strip, making it very convenient for just about everything.
I will definitely return to Desert Hills (hopefully very soon!)

Room tip: I haven't seen their modern rooms, but the vintage rooms are excellent!
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 29, 2023 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at how spacious and clean the rooms were. Yes, the rooms are dated, but the location and price are worth it. The pool area is very quiet and not suitable for guests looking for a wild or lively atmosphere. Would stay here again.

Room tip: Parking on site, quiet hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Codyz404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2023 via mobile

We had four criteria for our Palm Springs hotel: Adult only; Kitchenette; Small size; and Hot tub. Desert Hills is single story. Just 20 rooms. We stayed in Studio 2 which is gorgeous with a very comfy bed and generously sized kitchen. It was furnished just as beautifully as the pictures and sparkling clean. We were sold on it when we saw it has a “private” patio. The pool is a nice size with plenty of shade and quiet. We did enjoy the barbecue with all the necessary tools and accessories.
Unfortunately, the hot tub was a busted hole in the ground surrounded by caution tape. While the room’s rear patio was nice for dining, it was not appropriate for sunbathing as there is a connecting path in the back rather than a wall. Overall the property is clean but needs repairs (holes in stucco walls, pool needs resurfacing, etc.). I hope the owners appreciate their exceptional housekeeping staff and invest in more freshening because Desert Hills is a gem in a great neighborhood.

Room tip: The fountain by rooms 1, 2, & 3 is a hummingbird magnet and a delightful place to sip coffee and watch wildlife in the morning.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Traveler28470923204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2022

A terrific stay -- four nights in a great MCM neighborhood, near all the action in downtown Palm Springs. We stayed in the King Kitchenette room, and it was great -- very clean, with great amenities and everything we needed for a terrific getaway. There was only one other guest for the first three nights, so we had the place almost to ourselves. However, a larger group checked in on our last night and it was still quiet, relaxing and exactly what we were looking for. Almost like having a private pool -- which came in really handy because the temp was up to 103 degrees while we were there. When we come back, we'll check here first before booking a room.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J.C. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2021 via mobile

Such a great place for a getaway. First time guest and it was a very relaxing getaway with no kids. Got to enjoy the heated pool. People were enjoying their patios and just relaxing.
Easy to walk downtown or grab one of the complimentary bikes to cruise around.
Room was very spacious, clean and the kitchen was well stocked.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank MarinersHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews