We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GetawayGalSez
Dallas, Texas

Small Quiet Comfortable

Review of Desert Hills
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 21, 2023via mobile
We had four criteria for our Palm Springs hotel: Adult only; Kitchenette; Small size; and Hot tub. Desert Hills is single story. Just 20 rooms. We stayed in Studio 2 which is gorgeous with a very comfy bed and generously sized kitchen. It was furnished just as beautifully as the pictures and sparkling clean. We were sold on it when we saw it has a “private” patio. The pool is a nice size with plenty of shade and quiet. We did enjoy the barbecue with all the necessary tools and accessories.
Unfortunately, the hot tub was a busted hole in the ground surrounded by caution tape. While the room’s rear patio was nice for dining, it was not appropriate for sunbathing as there is a connecting path in the back rather than a wall. Overall the property is clean but needs repairs (holes in stucco walls, pool needs resurfacing, etc.). I hope the owners appreciate their exceptional housekeeping staff and invest in more freshening because Desert Hills is a gem in a great neighborhood.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: The fountain by rooms 1, 2, & 3 is a hummingbird magnet and a delightful place to sip coffee and...
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Welcome to Caliente Tropics Hotel
₱8,219
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,620
  • Hotels.com
    ₱6,336
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱6,887
2.4 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ace Suite Patio
₱14,876
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱13,791
  • Expedia.com
    ₱16,130
2.5 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
₱9,437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    ₱7,537
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,695
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
SAGUARO
₱7,954
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱4,191
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,954
3.1 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱9,837
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    ₱10,512
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱9,155
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,701
2.6 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior
₱3,921
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱3,093
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,941
3.0 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Front
₱8,099
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱6,963
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,362
4.4 km from Desert Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palm Springs
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
147
24
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
147
24
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub retro cool vintage hotel single story private patio great amenities four nights nice size housekeeping staff comfy bed in downtown palm springs kitchenette pool mcm hideaway backdrop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 181 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2022

A terrific stay -- four nights in a great MCM neighborhood, near all the action in downtown Palm Springs. We stayed in the King Kitchenette room, and it was great -- very clean, with great amenities and everything we needed for a terrific getaway. There was only one other guest for the first three nights, so we had the place almost to ourselves. However, a larger group checked in on our last night and it was still quiet, relaxing and exactly what we were looking for. Almost like having a private pool -- which came in really handy because the temp was up to 103 degrees while we were there. When we come back, we'll check here first before booking a room.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J.C. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2021 via mobile

Such a great place for a getaway. First time guest and it was a very relaxing getaway with no kids. Got to enjoy the heated pool. People were enjoying their patios and just relaxing.
Easy to walk downtown or grab one of the complimentary bikes to cruise around.
Room was very spacious, clean and the kitchen was well stocked.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank MarinersHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 15, 2020

This place has a very good location, as we liked to be able to walk to downtown. Then you can go shopping, find many restaurants and see the Thursday night Street Fair. We drove to the Street Fair though, because that day was a little cool. We saw some cars being towed away. Just look for the No Parking on Thursday night signs (including some side streets).
Not really a fan of having no office and checking yourself in. We like the warm and cozy feeling of having an office to go to when you need something. Although the response time from Angela was great, we still prefer the old fashioned way.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FairLady118
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

This little hotel is perfect for a retreat or just a calm and cozy weekend away from LA. The atmosphere is calm, relaxing and you get the feeling of a private villa. The breakfast was included and were surprisingly good. fresh fruit, good coffee, yogurt and granola and served by the poolside if you want.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank JonasBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

My girlfriend and I have been coming here for past 3 years. We love the boutique feel as there's only a small number of rooms. Adults only, no kids or animals (fond of both, just don't want to be around them on vacation). Chill vibe, close to downtown, just extremely relaxing. My favorite hotel in PS.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domestictravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews