We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$78
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ZOSO(Palm Springs)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Korakia Pensione(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oasis Villa Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Riviera Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
87
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseking roomshort driveprivate deckperfect hostsnature preservehot tubperfect bed and breakfastcozy living roomjoshua treethe palm springs areadesert retreatliving areanext morningeach morningstayed longerour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Just a short drive from some of your favorite places in Palm Springs this will be an unforgettable experience. You will be close to nature but a few steps away and you will have the greatest breakfast meals from your hosts, Wayne & Michael. Your hosts are true professionals down to the last detail, eggs cooked to perfection, you can't be treated better even at a five star restaurant. We had one dinner meal and here again all of us were served at once and the plates were heated!! My hat is off to our gracious hosts, Wayne & Michael. Fantastic job!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerfromHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I know people say that when you go away you want better than you get at home, after all, you are paying for it, but I love my home and to be able to visit far-off places and feel happy and comfortable where I am staying is my ideal travel experience.

From the moment we pulled into the drive after a long drive from LAX airport (we will fly to Palm Springs next time, it's just down the road!), Wayne and Michael made us feel welcome. They share their home with you and it was like arriving to stay with old friends (and their gorgeous hounds Pierro and Gianni.)

We had all we needed in the kitchen, living area and our own room. Great selection of books and comfortable sofas to lounge around in. But we were here to explore too. We walked and ran in the surrounding dessert and Palm Springs was only a short drive away for shopping and lunch.

Great home-cooked breakfasts and on our final night, we opted for dinner chez Los Desperados, with Wayne and Michael, which beat any restaurant night out. Wayne is a wonderful cook and they are both perfect hosts.

There was always a lovely atmosphere, with all the guests chatting with each other over breakfast (not usually my scene!) and it was the most relaxing 3 days of my trip, which had been wonderful so far already.

It is what I will always think of now when I hear “California Dreamin’.”

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VandL_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne k, Owner at Casa de los Desperados, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Vicki and Laurie,
Thanks for the lovely review! We really hope to see you again, either in the UK or here in Whitewater. And thanks for the recommendations for Portugal! W&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We stayed mid week in the king room (with private patio & hot tub) and had the place all to ourselves for 3 nights. It was heaven! Wayne & Michael and the dogs made us feel right at home. The house is eclectic rustic and kept beautifully simple and clean. Our breakfasts cooked by Wayne were absolutely delicious & filling! The best part was the guys surprised me with a beautiful and scrumptious birthday cake! The place is situated in the canyons yet close to Palm Springs. I can't say enough about this wonderful experience...just go see for yourself!

Room Tip: we enjoyed the king room but all the rooms and the Airstreams were nice
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra / Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

It's hard to believe (until you stay at the Casa) you can experience such rural relaxation so close to the vibrancy of Palm Springs. The Casa is made up of a couple of rooms off a main area in a funky (only that adjective suffices) house and a pair of Airstreams. The rooms are perfectly nice, comfortable and sufficiently roomy--but not what makes the Casa unique. What makes the Casa unique is the friendly charm of the proprietors with whom one immediately feels at home.

The breakfasts are works of art. The scenery is gorgeous, the sky big and full of stars. You are close to the Whitewater Canyon Preserve with excellent hikes. You can also hike up a draw from the Casa.

Perhaps best of all are the resident canines. Do not stay at the Casa unless you love dogs. They make you feel as welcome as the humans who run the place.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2018

My husband and I arrived at Casa de Los Desperados a little late, but Wayne was there to greet us with cookies and our hot tub ready to go - just what we needed after a long drive. We stayed in the King Room, with the private deck and jacuzzi. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet with a beautiful view. The next morning we took our time looking around Wayne and Michael's gorgeous house and grounds. They have achieved a rare and enormously gratifying combination of elegance and warmth. The room and house were spotlessly clean, very welcoming, and beautifully decorated. It's hard to say what we liked best about Casa de los Desperados - our charming hosts, the fun dogs, the natural beauty, but I'm going to go with the astonishing meals that chef Wayne prepared. Every breakfast was unique, satisfying and absolutely delicious. We had dinner one night and were gifted with a 5 star meal prepared with care and talent. During our stay we visited Joshua Tree, went up the tramway in Palm Springs and went horseback riding with Smoke Tree Stables. Casa de los Desperados is close to lots of outdoor fun and delicious restaurants. We were very happy with this very special place and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We liked the King Room.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank QueViva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews