We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
56
124
73
34
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
124
73
34
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi tub peruvian restaurant san francisco half moon bay room was clean taco bell indoor pool the pacific ocean late check nice stay free parking safeway microwave monterey california sfo
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Check in was painful. There was a large party supply truck parked in the main driveway and no one could direct me where to find the other entrance. After a few wrong turns found the back entrance. It was a holiday weekend and there was one staff member working, who btw was very kind and helpful, but should have had more help.

Was told to park on the upper level to enter building. There was no parking close had to park fairly far away still on property, but difficult to manage luggage and supplies as the hotel is built on very steep hill. Got to the room, very under whelming, old and worn. The saving grace was it was clean.

But my dinner in the refrigerator and left for the event I was attending, which had brought me to this town. Arrived back at the hotel late to find there was no parking, anywhere on the property. It was foggy, cold and wet which I love, but not so much when I had to park on the main street and hike to the room. Got to the room to find the lamp next to bed was broken, tried changing bulbs to find a broken bulb in the other lamp. Went to heat up dinner and found the refrigerator wasn't plugged in. Didn't bother calling the front desk was just tired and wanted to go to bed.

Got in bed and discovered there was a sheet and a very light blanket. Got up to look for a comforter or another blanket and there were none. Okay this is on the ocean and gets chilly, where were the other blankets? Had to crank up the heat as the room was too chilly for comfort. Furthermore there was very bright lights on the back side of the room with really poor blinds and no curtains, way too light to sleep well. This property is also next to highway 1 and a stoplight, very, very noisy.

After a poor night's sleep woke to a beautiful view outside the front deck. Went to the advertised continental breakfast which was a fairly good spread but way tucked in a corner with way too many people trying to fit in the area.

Check out was 11am thus I puttered around and was not in any hurry. Imagine my surprise when I got out of the shower before 10am to find the maid banging on my door trying to come in, thank goodness I had used the extra lock that prevented her from entering. So I'm dripping wet at the door yelling back "don't come in, I'm checking out in an hour." Not good.

I thought about going to the front desk to offer my suggestions for improvement, glanced at the front desk which once again had quite of few patrons in line, decided against it for time's sake. Was not fun hiking to my car with my luggage and things, noticed others had moved their cars closer too thus parking was still at a premium.

Gets poor instead of terrible for the really nice front desk clerk who checked me in, and the views. Otherwise cannot recommend.

p.s. Did not eat at the restaurant on site, but have a suggestion. While taking in the views witnessed the staff for the restaurant arriving for work and parking in the small lots on site. Okay this place has hardly any parking to begin with. Have the able bodied staff park on the street so your customers can park on site. Just really rubbed me the wrong way!

Room tip: Had room set back from highway, was still very loud from highway noise
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LodiDazzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The Pacifica Beach Hotel was a phenomenal find for our accommodations while in California Jan 5 - 10 , 2016. The room was very spacious, very clean and yet very cozy. It featured an electric fireplace, a very large jacuzzi, king bed, microwave, refrigerator, table and chairs, large bathroom with a great shower. The price was very reasonable for what we got. It included a continental breakfast with good choices. Even though we didn't use the pool on the premises, it looked very nice. You could see the Pacific Ocean at Linda Mar beach from it. We could also see the ocean from our room! I highly recommend looking into this hotel if you want to stay in Pacifica, which is about 15 minutes from San Francisco and 25 minutes from Half Moon Bay.

Room tip: We had Room 201 and it was great! Ocean view from windows, very large and comfortable.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouLou324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, General Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

We are truly blown away by your kind words. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that you experienced great stay. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Pacifica soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We snuck away for one night and this suited us. The rooms are clean, the price was reasonable, the view is excellent, and the beach is just across the highway. We watched the surfers and the sunset from the balcony and watched the bright sunrise from bed. It's just that damned highway... It's not really that noisy, but it was just loud enough to muffle out the sound of the waves, and that's one of the key reasons we come to the coast. We will look for accomodations closer to the water from now on. And calling it a "continental breakfast" was a stetch of the imagination.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank tr4par
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

We are truly delighted to read your wonderful experience, thank you for taking the time to share with us. Nothing thrills us more than knowing you enjoyed an excellent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Beautiful views and location but not worth the money. The resort is in declining repair. Broken knobs, worn doors from the elements, rusty hvac systems, security doors not locked and a visit from the pacifica police made or stay quite eventful. Even with an upgrade after complaining it still did not make up for the run down shape of the hotel, the kids running g up and down halls and smokers crowding all doorways and the parking g garage....not to mention the lone 6-8 yr old boy in pool by himself for an hour! !! We were afraid to leave him for fear of an accident. The windows are not double or triple paned so you hear every car pull in throughout the night as well as those racing along hwy 1 below. This hotel is in serious need of a remodel!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank DNDTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Nice quick type breakfast included. Beauitful room view. Large room with Frig and Microwave. This is a nice place just of of Hwy 1. Right across the street from the beach. Nice parking and nice parking lot at beach. Front desk very friendly. You will enjoy your stay here. Whirlpool Jet Oversize tub right in room.

Room tip: Partial ocean view & ended up a patio outside the room, total ocean view. No elevator. Hilly parking lot,one flight up. Nice place.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews