We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Awesome Angie!”

Trefethen Family Vineyards
Ranked #11 of 207 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Napa’s classic wine estates, Trefethen is still a hidden gem. Easy to find, but only if you’re looking. Our entry is on Oak Knoll Avenue, tucked away from the crowds of Highway 29. The driveway John Trefethen used to land his plane on runs through the middle of our vineyard, over the ground we have tended since 1968. On August 24, 2014, a 6.0 earthquake rocked Napa Valley and Trefethen to the core and left our cherished historic winery leaning 4 feet to the west. We have spent 2½ years working on a full restoration, including a modern seismic retrofit. Originally constructed in 1886, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building is ready to stand sentinel over Napa Valley once again. Please come visit soon! Reservations are not required but are suggested Reservations are required for all groups of 6 or more. At this time we are unable to accommodate anyone under the age of 21, including infants and children.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I loved wine tasting at Trefethen with Angie. She was fun & very knowledgeable. She’s the queen of pairing wine & food. Great experience!

Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimmersWine, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for visiting and for the great review of your experience. Angie is awesome! We hope to see you again sometime.
Mimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 42 reviews
"halo"
in 9 reviews
"the reserve"
in 14 reviews
"dry riesling"
in 4 reviews
"great wine"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 3 reviews
"great tasting experience"
in 4 reviews
"cabernet franc"
in 3 reviews
"napa valley"
in 17 reviews
"joining the wine club"
in 3 reviews
"wine educator"
in 4 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 5 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 15 reviews
"favorite winery"
in 6 reviews
"down to earth"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had come to Napa with a list of wineries we wanted to visit, but the driver said we shouldn't miss this one, and he was so right. We were so happy that we listened to his advice. This turned out to be the highlight of our day in Napa! The grounds are gorgeous and the building is also. Trisha did our tasting, and we loved talking to her and hearing about their wines. We enjoyed all of the red wines in our tasting and ended up buying two to take, but she said we could get several others we liked in Dallas at several stores she shared with us. Overall, I would advise anyone going to Napa to definitely plan a visit here!

Thank ilovecalculustoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimmersWine, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for the great review of your visit. Your comments just made our day! We are very happy your driver re-directed you to Trefethen. Trish is right. You can find our wines in the Dallas area at fine wine stores and on the wine lists at many local restaurants.
We hope to see you again in Napa.

Cheers,
Team Trefethen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing visit and Angie is by far the best host of any winery. Great wine and an experience that reminds you of being with friends in the perfect setting.

1  Thank AAGexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimmersWine, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear AAGexec,

Thank you for visiting and for posting a five-star review. We greatly appreciate it and we will be sure to share your kind words with Angie!
Cheers, Team Trefethen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

A friend of mine is a member so I've been a handful of times. This time we splurged for the Reserve Tasting and not only was it all amazing, we had Angie for a second time and she remembered my likes and dislikes! (I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of wine, and still figuring it out!) We had a large party celebrating a friends birthday and she made us feel special and was sooo informative not only about wine, but the winery and surrounding area.

I can't wait to go again and even considering becoming a member myself!

Thanks Angie and Thefethen for amazing and wonderful experiences and not making me feel like a total newbie!

1  Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimmersWine, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Hi Lori,
Thank for visiting and for the great review! We can't wait for you to come visit again! Cheers, Team Trefethen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2018

We have been visiting Trefethen since the early 2000s. We have been wine club members as long as I can remember! We buy a ton of wine from them and return to the winery each year. So you can see the love runs deep! The wine is top notch and the experience is always second to none. ANGIE is absolutely, hands-down, a GEM! She always takes great care of us whether it's letting us know about vintages running low, that certain wines are bottled and ready, shipping specials, or checking on us during Hurricane Harvey! ANGIE'S customer service and industry knowledge is what we now hold as the gold standard when visiting other wineries! Trefethen is a must visit for everyone!

2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimmersWine, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hello Jennifer, Wow! Thank you for the great review and the comments about our wines, hospitality, and Angie. She is a gem and we are blessed to have her on our team. But we feel even more blessed to have the long-term love and support from such loyal customers. You inspire us to reach higher every day to make the best wines and to welcome guests with open arms. As we celebrate our 50th Anniversary this year, we are embracing everything "gold." Now, we get to add "gold standard" to our list of accomplishments. Again, thank you for the review and the great support. Cheers, Team Trefethen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trefethen Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Trefethen Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing