We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Venue”
Review of Tarpy's Roadhouse

Tarpy's Roadhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarpy's Roadhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 314 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canyon Del Rey
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Situated a couple of miles inland From Monterey Tarpy’s is a great restaurant to pop out to if your looking for a change. Friendly staff, great menu and a large choice of drinks. Whilst we were there on a Sunday the restaurant was still buzzing. Happy to go back should we be in the area.

Thank NGER14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarpysDebbie, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review! It's great to hear you had friendly service and good food! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018

It was my wife's Birthday and notified Tarpy’s as such. We arrived and lo and behold, a nice table for two with balloons. We’ve been coming here since the beginning and are never disappointed. Service always warm and cordial and never rushed. We shared a Caesar salad and split a full rack of their amazing baby back ribs. We supplemented with grilled asparagus. Great meal. Really didn’t have room for dessert but they brought out a petite chocolate sundae on the House. A great ending to a great low key evening. I prefer Tarpy’s to its sister joint the Rio Grill at the Crossroads in Carmel.

Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarpysDebbie, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for the lovely review! We're so happy you both had such a great night with us and a nice, low-key birthday celebration! We appreciate your patronage over the years and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We had been having a bad day chasing food...because its Sunday alot of restaurants in the area have specific "lunch" or "dinner" hours or closed altogether. We were ready to just go home and have leftover pancakes when we remembered Tarpy's. We haven't been here for at least ten years and I am so glad we stopped in. I had the buttermilk fried chicken sandwich which is divine and my husband had an Angus burger. I'm so glad we decided to stop in.

Thank Roxy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarpysDebbie, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

We are so happy you joined us after all these years and had an awesome lunch! We hope to welcome you back again, thank you for sharing your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We arrived on 24 March at 5:30pm without a reservation. There was plenty of space, and yet it took 4 minutes to find a table for two. In that time the lady on front of house was extremely rude to three servers who came to the stand - we were in total shock that she would speak to them in such a way in front of customers!

Onto the food: a 'caesar salad' arrived with old wilted lettuce, a pile of unshaven parmesan cheese and dressing (which was NOT caesar) in lumps throughout. We had mains of pork ribs and pasta. The ribs were so dry it was impossible to eat them; we immediately tried to get the attention of staff to send the dish back, but after 10 minutes of trying to flag someone down we gave up. The other pasta dish had clearly been "prepared earlier" and put under the grill to heat up, because the top layer had burn spots (never before seen on pasta!!) and the underneath was stone cold.

We tried to complain but again, could not get hold of any staff. Each server kept saying "I'll be with you in a minute" but never returned. We eventually managed to get the bill, again tried to speak to someone to challenge the amount but no-one was available, so we left cash to cover the food and left.

The most disappointing meal out we've ever experienced!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarpysDebbie, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Chloe,
I am so sorry for your experience. Please contact me personally at the restaurant to discuss (831) 647-1444, ask for Debbie Edwards, I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I recently held an event at Tarpy's Roadhouse and was beyond impressed with the service from the planning process to the day of event execution. Tammi and Tatum in the banquet department were a pleasure to work with and took great care to ensure our event went off without a hitch. The property is beautiful and intimate, its feels like you are at a party at a good friend's house. The food was delicious and displayed with care. I highly recommend holding your next event here!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darlene25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarpysDebbie, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for the nice review! We're so happy you chose to have your event with us and had great service and delicious food too! We appreciate you recommending us to others and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarpy's Roadhouse also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Tarpy's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;