We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
80
84
24
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
84
24
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt remodeled room exposed wood gas fireplace vaulted ceilings keurig coffee maker town centre complimentary breakfast large shower hotel motel great place to stay would stay here again bed and pillows sized room whole foods downtown monterey location is great
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The room are nicely renovated and are very spacious. They have a coffee machine, a fridge and a microwave. The gas fireplace made the room very cozy.
We actually walked twice down to the wharf and all the restaurants and it was a pleasant walk . Trader Joe's is less than a 10 min walk away and Whole foods is also a 10 min walk up the hill.
The staff was really nice and friendly. Overall it was a good value and we would definitely recommend staying there.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank medcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2016

On our recent road trip and tour of the Western US, we stopped overnight at Munras Inn in Monterety, California. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room (almost cavernous) with 16 foot high ceiling and roomy trapezoidal shape. The room had a nice fireplace, refrigerator, microwave and TV with premium cable. Closet space was very generous, and the bathroom was long and spacious also. There was ample free parking. Breakfast was included consisting of breakfast sandwiches, pastries, cereals, fruit, juices and coffee, all to be picked up in the lobby and brought back to ones room for consumption. I think that it was a warm, comfortable place to stay, and would recommend it.

However, of the various hotel properties that we recently experienced on our tour, my wife and I remember Munras Inn as kind of the oddball. Not necessarily negatively so, but idiosyncratic. Like, the room was so huge that it seemed minimalist and empty. The angled ceiling with wooden beams reminded me of cabins in Tahoe. The bed was a large King, but the bed frame was larger than the mattress by 6 inches or so. The bedside could have used some lamps or reading lights. The two lounge chairs in the room were upholstered in a sort of vinyl/plastic and were a good 14 feet from the television. The main lighting for the room was a chandelier that seemed incongruous with the otherwise modern decor. Access to the property was not exactly easy also, involving driving around the block to approach the one driveway from the NE.

Overall I would say that it was a good nights' stay and a good value, so I can recommend it. It was a nice, comfortable hotel. Just be prepared for the little odd quirks.

Room tip: Ask for a fireplace room
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewsk8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We booked to stay for three nights at the beginning of November. We were given a room the furthest point from the road on the road floor. We could not fault anything the room had two double beds, a fire, a lovely bathroom and plenty of storage. The car was safely parked outside. It was quiet, clean and a short walk from the town centre. The reception staff were all pleasant and a good selection of continental breakfast was included. It was the best motel we stayed in during our stay in the USA for the price we paid.

Room tip: Most of the room are designed to be away from the road
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2016

A really comfy room with quality fittings and superb fireplace....great on site parking and easy walk to Monterey. The hotel is well located for easy access to the stunning 17 mile coast drive through Carmel and access to the west coast route. Fully recommended !

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review! We look forward to your return someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Clearly been updated. The rooms was gorgeous. Big and everything you needed. I guess the only downside is its a drive to get to anything, that didnt bother us though. Still a close drive to everything in this beautiful city.
The only issues was when we checked in and we wanted to change to a 2 queen bed, they states we had to cancel lose that money and rebook. Annoying but no problem. I would stay again

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieimogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you so much for your feedback. We very sorry that you encountered issue at check in. We have shared your comments with our front office manager. We look forward to your return someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews