We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Expedia.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Agoda.com
$104
View deal
Priceline$129
Hotels.com$129
Trip.com$132
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,352)
Filter reviews
3,352 results
Traveler rating
1,805
1,058
329
109
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,805
1,058
329
109
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building cannery row nice hotel fisherman's wharf free parking within walking distance downtown monterey pool and hot tub lovely room would definitely stay here again mile drive big sur pebble beach fireplace ernie chaise aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 3,352 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2022

My wife and I were traveling through Monterey and needed a quick stop on our way from longer journey.

We were surprised at the level of standards this hotel offered.

From friendly staff to attractive and classy lobby and room with amenities like pool, hot tub, great food and bar (albeit small) and delicious free breakfast bar, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steve00oo2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2022

Dear steve00oo2022,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I hope we can welcome you back for a longer stay next time.

Warm regards,
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2022

We were happy with the hotel’s accommodations but had a negative encounter with the bartender. I didn’t try the breakfast because of the negativity but had a good night in our room with the pleasant fireplace. The hotel was within walking distance to the restaurants and not too far from the wharf and aquarium.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2022

Dear Suzanne M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. It's very important for us to have a friendly and respectful environment for our guests and staff alike, and I am very sorry that you had a negative experience. We appreciate all your feedback and hope you will consider visiting us again.

Warm regards,
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2022

We had come to Monterey for a wedding and decided to stay at this hotel. It was a surprise how fun this hotel was. So close to the water and eating places. The hotel had a nice bar and a great breakfast that had chocolate chip waffles. A favorite for my kids. We will definitely come back.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank revarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2022

Dear revarao,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Abrego and taking the time to review your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments and hope you'll bring your family back to visit us again.

Warm regards,
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2022

As always, had a good experience here. Staff was friendly. Room was clean and spacious. Having a fireplace in the room was cool, particularly in November. Location is close to conveniences - restaurants and such. Downtown shops are a 10 minute walk.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mw272022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2022

Dear mw272022,

Thank you very much for all your great comments. I hope we can welcome you back to Monterey again soon.

Warm regards,
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2022

We enjoyed our stay! I definitely did not find it like a motel as someone else mentioned. We stayed in the main building with the front desk and dining room. It is really a great property- we enjoyed our room, the hot tub, proximity to all we wanted to do, friendliness of the staff and conversation with Ernie as we enjoyed a great dinner after traveling. Very convenient and cozy atmosphere for a good meal. Limited menu, but plenty of good options including a kids menu.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cruiser293559
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2022

Dear Cruiser293559,

Thank you so much for your great comments. We are very lucky to have Ernie on our team. It's great to read you enjoyed the hotel and your family had a good time in the Bistro. I hope we can welcome you back to Monterey again soon.

Warm regards,
Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews