We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$860
US$512
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanayura(Noboribetsu)
US$598
US$457
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Takinoya(Noboribetsu)
US$926
US$495
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Oyado Kiyomizu-ya(Noboribetsu)(Great Value!)
US$237
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kashotei HANAYA(Noboribetsu)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mahoroba(Noboribetsu)
US$226
US$219
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$224
US$191
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$206
US$165
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$165
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Tamanoyu(Noboribetsu)
US$415
US$215
YOKOSO Japan
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
195
281
96
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
281
96
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busoutdoor onsensalt waterhell valleynon smoking roombuffet dinneronsen hotellives up to its nameroman bathhollywood twin roomtoilet bowlmen womensmall waterfalljr stationthe hotel websiteconvenient locationhot springs
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

One of the larger hotels in the Noboribetsu valley with a decent buffet for dinner and breakfast. Our room though had cigarette smoke smell although supposedly a "non-smoking" room; some sulfur smell came in when we opened the small window so you choose the poison. The large onsen "pool" was great.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Glenn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The location is very convenient as it is just opposite a bus terminal and it is walking distance to nearby attractions.

We want to experience the traditional tatami room but it was not available for 2 nights. Hence, we made a booking for a night for tatami room and another night for normal room. Both are very nice!

The buffet dinner is awesome, as there was unlimited supply of the snow crab!

Last but not least, the onsen is really really good. I have enjoyed my stay in this quiet yet peaceful town.

Room Tip: Please opt for non smoking room, might be a little challenge to communicate to front desk (prepare google translate)
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Wonderful hotel with warm service and people. The hotel dinner is nice and lots of selections. Mostly seafood such as Hokkaido famous crabs and other raw fish. The hot spring is one of the best i have ever experienced. They change from flool to the next floor by gender.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

There are a couple ways to get to this hotel. We arrived New Chitose Airport and used our JR Passes to arrive at Noboribetsu station. From there, purchase your bus ticket inside the station (one way or return - cheaper if you buy return) and wait outside for the bus to arrive. Frequency of buses are quite often, maybe every half hour? There is even a luggage forwarding service inside the station for same day delivery to your hotel in Noboribetsu. You'll understand why when you board the bus. It's crowded to the max and having to lug huge suitcases on board is quite nightmarish. We traveled as a family of 5 and brought two medium luggage which was doable. Most others on board also traveled with medium sized luggages. My advice is forward your luggage whenever possible while travelling around Hokkaido as some of the stations are very old. They provide no escalators and the Noboribetsu station has a very long flight of stairs up and over the train tracks and back down. I saw some single female travelers who brought two huge luggages each and felt very sorry for them. The stations are definitely not as convenient as those in Tokyo, Kyoto or Osaka so be warned. The bus from the JR station takes about 15minutes to arrive at the Noboribetsu Onsen station which is just across the road from the Noboribetsu Grand Hotel. There is a steep incline up to the hotel so if it's snowing, please be careful of slippery road. There was a family with young children in tow ahead of us walking and when they nearly reached the top of the incline, the child slipped and fell and the luggage he was toting also slid down. Luckily, one of the hotel guys standing at the entrance saw and quickly came to help the child and grab the luggage. Japanese service at its best. Check-in was a breeze. We booked a tatami style room for the kids and a western twin-style for my husband and I. The twin room was ok in size, clean and bed was comfy. I was very impressed with my kids' tatami room. In the hotel website, it seemed small, but in actuality, it's very spacious! In fact, I should have just booked all 5 of us inside the room. There was more than enough space for luggages and even offered two bathrooms (one with a bath & bowl and the other with just a toilet bowl). We had half-board so opted for the first session of the dinner buffet. The dining hall is huge and even with a couple of tour groups, there were still a lot of empty tables. Food was replenished quickly and quite a variety was on offer. I personally didn't really care for the buffet except for a few items which I thought was ok. The dessert section is definitely a must try and the beef steaks were ok as well. Morning buffet breakfast was also fine but once again, there seemed to be quite a variety but nothing that was especially good or yummy. The hotel is very close to the town center itself which is basically just a strip of road with shops on either side. It takes about 15 minute walk to the entrance of Hell Valley so it's very convenient. There is a 7-11 nearby (about 5minute walk) and near the 7-11 is a very yummy store selling soft serves of different flavours. We also used the onsen which was big and spacious with different types of waters for soaking, as well as the outdoor onsen which was really quite lovely. They switch sides for men & women, so if you want to experience the two different outdoor onsens, you'll have to try it on different days. Value for money-wise, I honestly think it's very expensive. Maybe because we stayed the last week of December where everything is just at super peak prices. I would not choose half board again.... I would buy dinner from the nearby 7-11 which has lovely bento boxes or try out one of the few restaurants in town (very limited though). The buffet breakfast is fine as you don't really want to trudge out early in the morning to look for food. All said and done, it's probably one of the better onsen hotel which can cater to a big group of people. Service was fine and there were a couple people at reception who could speak English and tried to help us out as much as they could.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rayean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to the bus terminal where you can board a bus to the JR Noboribetsu station. On the contrary, it’s a short but manageable walk to the tourist spot, hell valley. Hotel has a small gaming corner that offers claw machines and some arcade games for entertainment!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank wm1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews