We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Noboribetsu Sekisuitei
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mahoroba(Noboribetsu)
US$250
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$204
US$166
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Oyado Kiyomizu-ya(Noboribetsu)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$232
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Kashotei HANAYA(Noboribetsu)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Tamanoyu(Noboribetsu)
US$243
US$234
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$852
US$508
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanayura(Noboribetsu)
US$613
US$453
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Takimoto Inn(Noboribetsu)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
73
196
103
22
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
196
103
22
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssapporo stationchitose airportbuffet dinner and breakfastprivate onsenjapanese style roomhell valleythe busfree shutter busgreat buffetinteresting experienceseparate buildingsno biggiecomfortable environmentfree pickdining areawalking distanceonsen hotel
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Stayed for one night on 10 May 2016. Booked via Booking.com. Had a western/japanese room, with half-board (breakfast and dinner) included.

Location: Great!
The hotel is located closer to the Oyunuma Footbath (less than 10 mins walk), but the entrance to Jigokudani is also in walking distance (10-15 mins walk). There's a donan bus that stops right in front of the hotel (the hotel stop is called Ashiyu Iriguchi), you'll have to check the bus timetable at the Noboribetsu station as only certain buses reach this stop. When we stayed in this hotel, for exploring Jigokudani, we decided to start from the footbath entrance and walked the walking trail backwards until Jigokudani before walking back to the hotel via the roads.

Room: Good
We requested for a non-smoking room, but I thought the rooms still smelled a bit of cigarette smoke, which I read many reviews about is a normal thing. Or maybe the smell could be just a musty smell? Room was very big, with 2 western style beds, and a tatami seating area which you could sleep on as futons are also provided. Yukatas to wear to the onsen was also provided. The toilet is very small, seat is not heated, and when we were there, our sink seemed to be leaking so every time we turned on the water, somehow the floor would get wet. As we only stayed one night, we just informed the staff about it and told them to take a look at it after we checked out. Wifi was good. Air conditioning was really hard to adjust, they only had a dial for heating/air conditioning and the dial turns to HI/MID/LOW, which we couldn't figure out how to make the room colder. So our room was pretty hot. As we only stayed for one night, we decided to just deal with it and we opened the windows to let the cold air come in, but some houseflies also came in through the window.

Facilities:
Hotel was very big, with a massive lobby area. Lobby area also has a sovenir shop. We stayed in the 7th floor of the main building and one of their onsens was on the 8th floor of the same building so it was convenient to go to the onsen. Onsen was large and in the females onsen, there were many dressing tables with hair dryers and even moisturisers and toners for you to use.

Dining:
Dining area was pretty big, but as the hotel is very big with many guests, you may find yourself having to queue to wait for seats to get into the dining area. We were lucky and didn't have this problem though I did see a queue outside the dining area halfway through my meal. Buffet spread was decent, though I was not really a fan of the food, but this is more of preference.

Service: Good
Hotel staff was decent in communicating in english. But during check-in, they had a mix up in the booking as they said my mom (who made the booking for one night) had the same name as another guest who booked for 2 nights. So they were initially confused why we presented them a booking confirmation of only one night. But this was resolved pretty quickly. Hotel has a bus provided to travel between the hotel and Sapporo Station (free) as well as the hotel and New Chitose Airport (500 yen per person), but you have to make reservation via email (check the hotel website for the details). There's only one timing for Sapporo Station, and two timings for New Chitose Airport.

Overall:
Good stay as it was refreshing to stay in a ryokan room for a change. The air-conditioning problem may be the deal-breaker for me in deciding whether I would stay there again the next time.

Room Tip: Reserve the shuttle bus if coming from or leaving towards Sapporo Station or New Chitose Airport
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yijiaa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Noboribetsu Sekisuitei is a tourist hotel and they don't pretend to be otherwise. The hotel lobby design retains a distinctive 80's style and the reception was efficient and business-like. We chose a Japanese style tatami room and it was spacious enough for the 2 of us. However, the bathroom amenities were a little spartan and the bathroom expectedly tight. Much as I wanted to make use of the public bath (since the hotel is located in the hot springs area), I decided against it as there was a big group of tourists that just checked in and I wasn't in the mood to compete for space in a public bath.

Our room rate included breakfast and dinner and both were served in a buffet style. For mass produced fare, I have to say the food quality was not bad. They had a good variety of Japanese dishes for both meals and the dining area is often close to capacity.

The hotel is decent enough for a night if you have your expectations in check and plus, their buffet meals are above average.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhimsicaltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We booked a ryokan room, check in process was smooth...the location of this hotel is very strategic, minutes away from the Jigokudani (Hell Valley) and walking distance from the town centre where shops and restaurants are located. The dinner menu was delicious but the dining place was a bit crowded and the ventilation could be better. The indoor and outdoor onsen is superb with traditional wooden tub located on the top floor of the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHLEE1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The bathroom is too small with awful urine smell... The room is spacious but quite old... Try serves pretty good dinner ... Massage in the hotel is pretty good too! The place is near to hell valleys do the Onsen is good too!p

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aliceteo6576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This hotel was chosen as transportation to Noboribetsu is cumbersome, particularly coming from Niseko. Also a Donan bus stop right in front of the hotel helps for a family of 6 with 2 young kids.

1. Transportation
After studying the rail connection that requires 2 connections and almost 3.5 hours to get to Noboribetsu, with no room for errors for the connecting trains, we (and the advice of the customer service from our hotel in Niseko) opted for Sekisuitei's shuttle bus service. We took the 1.40pm bus to the airport from Niseko and reached the airport at 4.10pm, with ample time to take their hassle-free shuttle service at 5pm, cost is only 500Y per head for the shuttle but need to book in advance.

The Donan bus runs 5-6x to Noberibetsu Onsen bus terminal, also direct to Date Jidaimura at selected timing, as attached in the bus timetables; before proceeding to Noboribetu Station. We found this very useful after our visit to Noboribetsu Aquarium, which is 5 minutes walk from the station. The last bus to depart from the station is 4.30pm, and cost 380Y from the station to the hotel, kids half price.

Note that there are more buses depart from the station to Noberibetsu Onsen bus terminal, which is another 20 minutes uphill walk to the hotel, or just take a cab. Sekisuitei bus stop is Ashiyu Iriguchi (足汤入口)

2. Rooms
We were assigned room 6001, which is right next to the lift in the central building. Room is very spacious by ryokan standard, and fresh yukata and towels changed daily. The futons are laid by hotel staff daily from 6.30-8pm, again not all ryokan provide this service. Wifi was strong in our room, hubby managed to watch 2 movies in 2 nights while our teenage girl also managed to enjoy her you-tube series at the same time.

3.Onsen
The indoor onsen was larger but its the outdoor that we enjoyed the most, with snow falling on a steamy bath, can't ask for more. Kose toiletaries are provided at the dry area, i.e. lotion and cleanser etc, good quality stuff.

4.Others
After dinner our kids really looked forward for the Bingo game that is held at 8.30pm. Not to worry if you don't undestand Japanese as there's a Bingo screen showing the numerical number. Cost for each game is only 500Y, which you can choose the card from the gift shop. Prizes included free use of private onset (which costs about 3800Y i think), branded chocolates etc. Do not despair if you don't win anything, they will give a 200Y voucher which could be used at the gift shop, so effectively guest is paying 300Y for each game.

Admittedly the buffet is not the best we had in japan hotels, but honestly the food is decent for a mass market hotel such as this. Staff was generally helpful and courteous, particularly at the dining area. Yes, no tempura prawns (all other tempuras provided) but sufficient supply of fresh sashimi, hot pots etc which makes up for the shortfall.

We booked directly with the hotel, for a family of 6 pax at about USD300 per night per room + breakfast and dinner, good onsens and great transport connection, we are very satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vivi003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews