We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$71
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$159
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonflower Bungalows(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otres Lodge(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
US$15
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
US$65
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Footprints Rooms(Sihanoukville)
US$10
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$37
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Onederz Sihanoukville(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
US$14
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
198
69
20
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
69
20
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing villageyoung cambodiansshuttle busshore excursiontuk tukhospitality schooltechnical skillsquiet surroundingshotel locationsingle bedwestern dishesrooms are spaciousbeautiful poolwonderful hotelkhmer foodbeach areaother places
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This is a hotel training young local people into the industry but it better than many regular hotels. My room was huge, clean, with a fantastic shower and zero noise at night. The staff were extremely helpful,friendly and always had a smile, The pool was also really nice. Only downsides are it is a bit of a drive out of town and the breakfast menu seemed a little light but overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186621Johnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrotherRoberto, 's representative at Don Bosco Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for your review. Thank you for remarking on our spacious rooms, the cleanliness, the quietness at night, the salt-water pool, and the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. Those are features that we are particularly proud of, and with your affirming remarks, our trainees will be encouraged to maintain the standard consistently. Thank your for drawing our attention to the breakfast menu. The restaurant menu is a 'work in progress'. Our hotel school is about 3-4 km from the town center, and we acknowledge that the current roadworks is making the journey into town more onerous for our guests. On the upside, our distance from the town center also makes our hotel unique in that it is located away from the noisy touristy and commercial areas. We hope that you had the time to walk around the neighborhood and got to see a typical Cambodian residential area and got to see how the average family lives. We look forward to your return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Due to the great reviews and the cause itself, we decided to stay here before our flight the next day. The stay overall was okay.

Pros
Staff are very friendly and try very hard with great manners

The pool is great

Beds are comfy and air con nice and cold!

Dinner was delicious and came out quickly.

Cons

-toilet seat was cracked with paint coming off - this is very cheap to replace and shouldn’t be left to get like that

- aircon leaking all night, it took 2 trips to reception and 3 hours for someone to just bring us a bucket and tell us they can’t fix it.

- we arrived for breakfast at 8am and we had a taxi at 9, we were told that it was a long wait for breakfast (the dining area was very busy) we explained that we need to get back to our room at 8:45. They said they will make sure we get it in time - after 25 minutes the breakfast came out. After 40 minutes my boyfriends juice came out and after 50 mins we gave up waiting for my coffee and juice.
We prepaid for our breakfast which meant we lost money on this.

- the gym is very outdated and most of the apparatus didn’t work, but we still managed to use a couple things and the mats to workout.

Although there were issues we still enjoyed our stay, and would recommend people staying here.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Quirkey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrotherRoberto, Owner at Don Bosco Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend people stay at our hotel, despite our shortcomings. Your comments have been well noted and we will strive to improve them for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at, incompetent staff in a big way and the worst breakfast I've ever seen in my life food is a huge no no be warned!, now I understand why the restaurant always empty, hugely disappointing I only give this hotel a 1 star rating because the room was clean and the pool was good other than that everything else so so poor and in the middle of nowhere, I would not stay here again if it was free not what u expect from a hotel this big

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrotherRoberto, 's representative at Don Bosco Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for mentioning the clean rooms and pool.
Our trainee students would be encouraged and will try to do even better because of your encouragement.
We regret that your perspective on other aspects of our service was not up to your standard.
I hope that while you were here, you took the opportunity to let our staff know the details of what disappointed you?
Our students are being trained daily, on a rotational basis. Rotation involving academic studies, learning English, hospitality skills and traineeships in other hotels and training in our own hotel.
We use any detail of dissatisfaction to improve our training. We take every opportunity, be they bad reviews, as an opportunity for learning. Again, we thank you for taking time to write a review.
Just on a minor note, I do hope that you have not confused us with another hotel when you stated "u expect from a hotel this big"? We are only a small boutique hotel with approximately 30 rooms. Our size, location, and our primary role as a training school is clearly stated on our website and on the websites of our booking partners.
If you have not confused us with some other hotel, again we express our regret and we will check to see if you have left more details on how we need to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We booked one night in Sihanoukville to make a connection to Siem Reap from the Sihanoukville airport. We weren’t looking for anything fancy, just clean and comfortable. We were very impressed with Don Bosco. The staff who ar every young, go to the limit to impress you with their service. Food fantastic, made from scratch on site, super clean, quiet, absolutely perfect. It is a little out of the way from the city which for a night or two isn’t a bad thing. About twenty minutes to the airport in regular Cambodia traffic, twenty bucks for a car.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank chrysalidtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrotherRoberto, 's representative at Don Bosco Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Sir/Madam
We are pleased to read that your stay with us was a huge pleasant surprise.
We hope that you will return and that your next stay will not be a 'surprise'.
In the mean time we will endeavor to instill in our trainee students that everything that they do is important and are being appreciated by discerning guests like you.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Well it certainly wasn't what I expected. I was actually pleasantly surprised. I was greeted by happy smiling faces. And my heavy luggage was carried up the stairs. One begins to quickly understand the ethos and philosophy of this place, and whilst of course there are imperfections, they are not insurmountable. So, I read, in a previous review, the water pressure was not great but, you get over it, it doesn't become a problem and you get used to it. The staff are very polite and responsive and always greet you with a smile, and its just lovely to experience this. A nice contrast to Saigon. Here is a place you can just relax and chill out, eat sunbathe and sleep and be surrounded by good intent. I was sorry to hear, in a previous review, of the abusive 'imperialists' bringing their nasty ways. Its so incongruous to the hotel, and certainly doesn't befit such an establishment. Yesterday, I was invited to take part in their New Year games, which I did with apprehension. But it was a fun afternoon, all the same. Thought i'd got away with dancing, until this old dear dragged me up and made me take part. All in all, a good place to stay. Recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
Thank Deny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrotherRoberto, 's represetative at Don Bosco Hotel School, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

We are so encouraged by your remarks-your mention of the main things that we try to provide and your understanding of our ethos and philosophy. We thank you also for your willingness and empathy in forgiving us our imperfections. We will keep on trying to attend to those imperfections so that our valued guests will come back without any apprehension whatsoever. We appreciate your contrast with Saigon. I do believe, that our hotel, probably the only tourist hotel to be located in a truly residential area where "real" Cambodians live, does place us in a very unique position to offer our guests a very unique experience. We are so glad that you took part in our New Year's Celebrations and hope that the Khmer custom of throwing water for luck did not soak you too much and will only bring you the best of luck in the new year! We hope that discerning travelers like yourself will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews