We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
332
146
79
43
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
146
79
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dry creek kitchen wine country spa treatments lobby bar smoked salmon beautiful hotel lox wear and tear walk in shower soaking tub modern design included in the rate street noise overlooking the courtyard french doors turn down service wine tasting
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We had reserved Hotel Healdsburg for our wedding anniversary trip as we wanted to stay somewhere chic, central to varied wineries for during the day and from which we could walk to the local restaurants and bars at night. After a disinterested check-in experience from the guy on the desk when we first arrived we were very concerned that we had made an error choosing HH. But we walked into our (corner) room and it looked fantastic - it was spacious and modern and there was a bottle of wine and a lovely hand-written welcome note waiting for us.

Notably after that first night we never saw the guy who checked us in again, and all the other HH staff were great.

After dinner and a glass of wine, it was time for sleep. The bed was comfortable and all was good with the world until around 5am, when Healdsburg started waking up. Our room overlooked the intersection of Healdsburg Avenue and Matheson St - right opposite the Healdsburg Grill - and once the deliveries started, and the towns maintenance staff got going (they do a great job by the way) then sleep was no longer really an option. The windows and shutters did little to keep out the noise from outside.

Frankly we had read reviews on TA and had always realised that being in the centre of town was likely to mean some noise issues; and so we had factored that in when we made our choice. Being able to walk to restaurants and bars vs some inevitable noise from being smack in the middle of it all. But the sound proofing on the windows in particular needed some attention.

To give credit where its due, we mentioned this to the front desk staff as we went to breakfast and they arranged to move us to another room facing the inner courtyard of the hotel. Truthfully the new room was not as nice as the first room in terms of decor - it seems our first room had been amongst the first rooms to be redecorated as part of an overall spruce up of the hotel. But importantly it was quiet, and we had no problem sleeping for the next two nights of our stay.

As others have said, the breakfasts are pretty good if lacking a bit in variety several days running. We didn't have any spa treatments, but did use the pool on a sunny Saturday afternoon - the pool area was nice, if a bit compact - and for us coming from England where the weather was damp and grey when we left, it was a real treat to be able to swim outdoors in April.

We also made use of the free bikes for a ride around the Dry Creek Valley - stopping at a couple of wineries recommended by the concierge on the way. We enjoyed it, but I'd caution that perhaps that is something only for the more adventurous. We only cycled 15 miles in total, and truthfully the roads were quite quiet (especially W. Dry Creek Rd), but we are experienced cyclists and it felt as though that sort of distance was at the very limit of the cruiser bikes (much better for short rides around town).

In summary, we loved Healdsburg as a base for exploring the Russian River Valley, Dry Creek and Alexander Valleys and plan to go back one day. Hotel Healdsburg is very well located and overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff were a big part of that; helping with dining suggestions and reservations, wineries and of course sorting out the room noise problem. We felt we made the right choice in the end, and we will likely stay at HH again - we just hope that all the rooms have been as stylishly refurbished by then and the noise issues have been minimised.

Room Tip: Request an inner room
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you appreciated the decor in our model room. We will be rolling out that design in all of our other rooms by this winter! We are very pleased that the staff was able to accommodate a room move to the back of property for you, and we will be sure that we have those notes in your profile so when you stay again we will know your preference. We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2015

The rooms are beautiful and were pristinely taken care of. It seems the large cyclist groups trumped other guests needs. We repeatedly made the front desk aware of the noise waking us at night. We finally realised it was the pond feature in the back of the hotel that was making an absurd amount of noise. We spent $2400 for 2 rooms x 2 nights. How disappointing, especially that it was within the hotels ability to correct. I suppose when the people at the front desk are desensitised to the rates being charged there is little room left for apathy.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do apologize for any issues that arose during your stay in regards to noise. We do have a few water features on our property that add to the ambiance of the peace and relaxation of our pool area, but we will take your feedback into consideration regarding the times these are running. We are very pleased that there were other aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, and we do hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Hotel Healdsburg was fantastic! It's a beautiful hotel, and I felt absolutely luxurious there! I was with a group of friends, and we greatly enjoyed the common areas of the hotel, the pool, and the dining. The location could not have been any better either! Can't wait to go again!

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
Thank knicolseestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2015

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of your recent stay with us. We are always so excited to hear that guests are able to truly relax on our property and get some much needed rest and relaxation. We look forward to having the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the future.
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

We loved location. We had a fabulous room. Great complimentary breakfast. All staff were great except one front desk guy who never cracked a smile. BUT noise level was horrible. Late night revelers' noise echoed throughout interior courtyard. Worst was being woken up before 7 am by hotel's landscapers who used leaf blower beneath our windows virtually continuously from 7-8 am every day. This was something they could control but didn't. What a shame.

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2015

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us very much. It never pleases us when a guests stay is affected by noise due to our downtown location. We would love for you to stay with us again so we can ensure we place you in a room off the main plaza where you can enjoy the quiet and relaxation you expect. We truly hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2015

The hotel is in a great location - right in the plaza. Theamenities are very nice i.e. Bath products, complimentary snacks and waters. But there are definite signs of wear and construction was occurring (floor refinishing) during our stay. Interesting that they chose one of the busiest times - Dry Creek Passport Weekend - to do construction. All said, it's a very, very nice spot with a steep price.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank notloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading many aspects of our property, and we truly hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future so you can see all of the improvements that we are making. I would like to be able to speak with you and handle your next booking with us personally so I can ensure we give you the experience you expect. I hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews