We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Best Ever!”

Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Dana Point Whale Watching and Dolphin Watching Eco-Safari
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watch with Capt. Dave's Dolphin and Whale Watching Safari in Dana Point on our high-tech sailing catamaran year round, with two Eye-to-Eye Underwater Viewing Pods. For 20 years Captain Dave's has provided daily trips to see dolphins, up to 10,000 strong, leap and play right off our bow, plus Gray Whales (December through April), Blue Whales (May through November), and year round Humpback Whales, Fin Whales, Minke Whales, and so much more. Go underwater with whales and dolphins without getting wet during your whale watch in our Eye-to-Eye Underwater Viewing Pods aboard Manute'a. Listen to dolphins during your whale watching safari with our underwater Hydrophone. Celebrity and certified naturalists make this exciting Dana Point whale watching excursion educational and entertaining too. Mrs. Capt. Dave's famous triple-fudge brownies make this a one-of-a-kind dolphin and whale watching adventure unforgettable. We are a real Eco-tourism company providing only sustainable wildlife viewing. Ask about Fast Cat, our upscale Rigid Hull Inflatable Catamaran and the newest boat in our whale watching fleet.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I know whale watching is always about 90% luck--sometimes the whales just aren't there, but this trip was the best. The weather was perfect, Captain Peter is enthusiastic and kind, and the whole trip was just wonderful. Dana Point is the place to go whale watching as there is a steep drop-off just off shore. We saw 5 or 6 blue whales (on 8/19/2012), a bunch of dolphins and a few Sun Fish.
The boat was the smaller catamaran, the Dolphin Safari, which is the best boat because you are right on the water. You could look down and see animals swimming under the boat! The water was so clear, too. We saw baby dolphins swimming with the mothers! The boat takes just 20 people, so it is pretty small, but everyone gets the same view, and you never miss anything because it's on he "other side of the boat." The bow waves splash into the boat over the netting a little bit (which is great when the weather's warm) and the quieter engines of the Dolphin Safari mean the animals aren't spooked as much. I've done lots of whale watching is this is the best!

1  Thank Classiccartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We all love Dolphin Safari.com, our smaller boat...it can't be beat for that really up-close encounter! Hope to see you again soon!

Mrs. Capt. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 670 of 812 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went on this tour on the morning tour today and it was fantastic. Our trip was on the larger of their 2 boats called the Manute'a. Water & snacks can be purchased before boarding; there's none on board. The boat does have heads (bathrooms). The water was calm and it was warm so we could wear shorts and tees with no jacket or windbreaker needed. During the almost 3 hour trip we saw 3 or 4 blue whales, 1 fin whale and hundreds of common dolphin. We were so close to the whales that we could hear them when they spouted and the dolphin surrounded the boat so we could see them up very close. This tour is a must for everyone, whether you're visiting the area or reside here. By doing so, you also help fund Capt. Dave's noble work to help save the whales and dolphin.

1  Thank WorldTravelLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Hi World Travelers!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, we appreciate it.

Mrs. Capt. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

we reserved for the whale watching tour.
the catamaran made the ride so much more fun! you get a bit more wet than maybe a regular boat, so that was super fun! of course if you dont want to get wet, you dont have to, but we had a blast! the good: the staff is super friendly, there is a bathroom on board if you need it, and we saw tons of dolphins! the not so good: we didnt see whales: we saw lots of puffs from the spout, but that took a while to learn: you see from a far that puff, but that is it. we didnt see any tails or anything BIG per say. there are a lot of regulations about whale watching, one of them being you can not get too close to them, so maybe that´s why didnt get lucky! i dont blame them; there are no guarantees. the dolphins in a way made up for it! they were right by our boat and you could almost touch them. the water was so clear you could see them perfectly. there must have been hundreds of them, jumping and swimimng all around us! that was awesome!

Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Lia,

Thank you so much! I'm delighted the dolphins were able to make up for your not seeing the whales close up. With us, Dolphins are not the 'boobie prize', they are the grand prize! What happens in those circumstances is that the Whales are moving, generally quite fast away from us. While we can usually catch up, and come within an acceptable distance, we just weren't able to on your trip. It's really up to the whales. When they are in one spot feeding, as the blue whales often are, it makes it much easier for us to get a better look at them. Hope you can join us again!
Mrs. Capt. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Friendly guys with a knack for finding marine wildlife. Kids and adults alike had a good time. In this size of ship, the sea can be rough.

Thank jcz987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

While staying with folks in San Clemente, we opted to take an afternoon tour with Captain Dave's.  This excursion did not disappoint!  Our party included two young children, a teenager and two adults.  Immediately, the crew's respect for nature was evident and emphasized to passengers.  Though we did not see any dolphins, this would have been anticlimactic as we had  already had the pleasure of seeing four blue whales from varying distances.  
The vessel was clean, safe and easy for passengers to move about.  The front viewing pods added an extra dimension to the entire experience.  As an added bonus, my husband was able to watch us from back home in Virginia via the streaming video cameras on board!  And, of course, we loved the delicious brownies!  Great afternoon-time and money well spent.  

2  Thank DoTheRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing