We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kate B

Great one night stay for whale shark experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 3, 2020
Booked a one night stay to be local for whale shark trip. Very chill place, right on the water. Enjoyed a tasty pasta supper with cold beers, dining on their little pier over the ocean.

Knocked door at 4.30am,out at 4.45, driver took us 15 mins drive to whale sharks. . Watched the sunrise and set out in the third boat of the morning (“first batch”). Amazing and full 30mins snorkel experience. Back at the hotel by 7am tucking into a breakfast of fluffy pancakes & mango. Their driver then took us to Sumilon Island boat jetty at 9am. Thank you 118 for the perfect arrangements.

I would recommend a short stay here ... just note that the bathrooms need updating (very old, and cold shower with low pressure) and road & aircon a little noisy. The rooms are simple, clean and equipped. The best thing is its lovely setting, pretty decor , chill vibe, super friendly staff, fantastic trip arrangements and a great price.
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱1,572
  • Hotels.com
5.5 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
3.5 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tsim Sha Tsui Dimsum Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,789
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱1,255
  • Booking.com
6.8 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,248
  • Agoda.com
5.9 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱2,253
  • Hotels.com
7.6 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,139
  • Hotels.com
8.7 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱2,072
  • Priceline
    ₱1,935
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,826
  • Expedia.com
    ₱2,004
42.4 km from Down South 118 Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Oslob
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
84
50
19
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
84
50
19
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale sharks red horse beer fresh seafood boutique hotel low tide ocean view minute drive following morning sumilon island philippines sunrise transport tricycle tours facebook falls canyoneering
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 169 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Stayed one night. The dining area looks cute and arrangement for whale shark watching is excellent.

The hotel is far from town so no restaurants nearby. The dinner food is not ok. Breakfast is ok. Bed is hard.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 11, 2019 via mobile

We went two nights an we loved it. The place and the personnel are amazing, very kind.
I recommend to stop in this place, you’ll never forget it!
Tidy and clean rooms, every day they clean rooms and help you if you need help they are reasy
Thaks a lot,

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank fedefiore85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 29, 2019

We love this place as it's small and cozy, lots of chairs and tables for guests to sit and admire the sea. We were lucky to see lots of stairs that night. Beach is not good to swim as there are some rocks and have to be careful if you wish to swim. We are here to swim with the whalesharks and this is a great location to have a night sleep before heading out at 6am. Clean and comfortable room. Filipino breakfast was good, like the special ham and eggs.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GKenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend in October. While initially it’s a stunning location and well presented it wasn’t the most comfortable place to stay! Bed was quite hard, food poor quality and upset our stomachs, the sun chairs out back made us itchy possibly sea lice as we also got bites in the water. Can’t swim in the ocean there and no pool meant it was always too hot we could never cool down. But it was cheap and the staff were extremely friendly! All in all you get what you pay for! Not a bad place to stop overnight if you are heading around the island!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank smallashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

Positives
- great location and stunning views
- instagrammable place
- decent room and big enough for a couple
- friendly staff

Negatives
- check in time is at 2pm, we arrived at 1:50pm. we expected to be in the room at least 2:15pm. the receptionist said the group before us left at 1pm. I was thinking - a room with that size - an hour should've been enough to clean the room but we got in at 3pm. No apologies just their smile. 😐
- water supply is an issue when everyone will use it. we could hardly shower
- beach isn't as tidy as what we expected it to be
- throw pillows smell bad (pls remove it)
- TV remote isn't working

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank chinites11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews