We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Traveluro
US$160
View deal
PricelineUS$169
Hotels.comUS$169
travelup.comUS$184
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveler rating
595
326
114
75
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
595
326
114
75
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages big sur bedroom cottage main building point lobos wine glasses bed was comfortable gas fireplace grounds are beautiful we've stayed coffee maker dog hammocks property kitchenette patio pet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2021

The room pictures I choose from and the actual room were very different. The room was very old and in disrepair. The shade valance had to be held up by the window which opened inward. I hit my head on the window frame which opened into the room directly above the bed. There was no wet bar. There was no enclosed outside area to contain the dog.

Room tip: don't go by the pictures, call and be very specific
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E5158WUjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

​Thank you for your recent stay with us! We apologize for the confusion in regards to what you had thought you had reserved vs what you had received. We have since clarified on our website this issue you had faced. Our staff will look into the issues you had faced in your cottage.

In the future we hope that you will give us another try to provide you with a stellar stay, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

From start to finish…the team at Carmel River Inn were so excellent! I’ve stayed here several times before and each time was special in it’s own way. From the office to housekeeping, everyone treated us…and our pup…with such kindness and great customer service. Due to some car drama, we needed to extend our stay for two days during the busy holiday weekend. They were able to accommodate us and everything worked out so well. We love the cabins and the entire property. The Carmel River Inn is the only place I’ll stay when visiting Carmel. Job well done!

Room tip: Cabin #32 is the largest…with a living room and kitchen. Perfect for breakfast in and after beach cocktails!
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 794tedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

The cabin (#51) we stayed in was very clean with all the necessities to make the guests comfortable. Staff is very friendly. The place is very quiet. This was our second trip there. We're looking forward to staying there again.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AniNayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021

We loved our stay in the cute cottage! The onsite staff was so friendly and responsive to our every need. We enjoyed toasting s'mores at the firepit, and relaxing in the peaceful setting. Our only suggestion would be to update the website...it really does not show off your property like it deserves, and detailed information about the variety of accommodations would be very helpful.

Date of stay: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kay-bee-geee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

The cottage we had (47, queen and double) was cute, great that it had two bedrooms and two TVs. It would have been great if the windows had screens on them (it warmed up in the cottage and really no way to cook it down other than opening the doors and windows but then the bugs started coming in). The bed was also a little bit high (my wife has knee problems and had trouble getting in and out of the bed).

Date of stay: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meander31778053525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews