We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
45
90
22
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
90
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerjapanese style roomshuttle buswestern foodcommon areasjoanna lumleyoutdoor bathboth nightsnakasendo trailfishbathsclerkonsenstationluggagemountainshike
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Enormous hotel with long walk to rooms. Large rooms with traditional tatami mats and futons laid out at night. Nice view of gardens. Bath tub and onsen style shower in bathroom. We had a traditional Japanese banquet for 12 plus our Walk Japan guide. Very good. Our men all went to the onsen baths inside the hotel which they enjoyed.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank twiggyseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

As we planned to hike the Nakasendo Trail we were a bit leery of the location as Kisoji was rather isolated in the mountains, not actually in picturesque Magome or Tsumago where the trail heads are, but with the free shuttles to or from these nearby towns - and from train stations at Nagiso or Nakatsuwaga, that was not a problem. Do note that these scheduled stops are not hourly and, not knowing this, we had a bit of a wait in Nagiso which was itself scenic and the station clerk let us leave our luggage with her. We left out of Nakatsuwaga as there were more trains but the twisting shuttle ride to the station required Dramamine! The Nakasendo Trail was a highlight of our trip though a bit more strenuous a climb than we had bargained for. But oh so beautiful.
We had a Japanese style spacious room - futons on the floor and a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. The outdoor onsen was beautiful, the water feeling like expensive lotion. First night we had the buffet dinner which was delicious and the second, a delightful 7 course Japanese dinner - amazing! Good choices at breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: They do not have non-smoking rooms but we are sensitive and did not smell any residual smoke at any time.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel Kosoji is a short distance from the Nagiso train station. There is a shuttle bus that comes every hour or so to the station. You can also reach the hotel by taxi or bus. The staff are courteous and service is good. Breakfast was just okay. Neither the Japanese nor the Western offerings were great. We had dinner both nights at the Japanese restaurant on the second floor and that was very nice. It consisted of an eight course meal which I would highly recommend. The onsen was very nice. They had inside and outside pools with varying temperatures. Beware that there is one side for women and another for men. They switch every day so pay attention to the signs: “blue for boys, red for girls”! Where the hotel is lacking is in the common areas and the rooms. Both are in need of a SERIOUS update. I deducted 2 stars for that reason. They need to shed the 80’s decor and move into the 21sr century.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at Nagiso station the hotel shuttle was waiting for us to take us to the hotel about 10 mins away. The hotel shuttle runs two loops: one Nagiso-Tsumago-hotel, the other Nakatsugawa-Magome-Tsumago-hotel - very convenient for getting to either end of the Nakasendo Trail.

The hotel itself is large (200+ rooms) and looks like a 70’s ski lodge on the outside and slight tinges of the hotel from ‘the Shining’ on the inside. However the staff were very pleasant and very helpful in sorting out luggage transfers for us, changes to our booking etc.

We tried both the set Kaiseki-style dinner in the Japanese restaurant and the informal buffet option. Both good although could imagine the buffet would get a bit monotonous if you were there more than a night or two. At the breakfast buffet, recommend not waiting until the last 3/4 hour before closing as staff started clearing food away with 30 mins to go.

Didn’t try the onsen here but it seemed very popular with the predominantly Japanese clientele.

It also appears we were following in Joanna Lumley’s footsteps as a thank you letter from her had pride of place in the hotel lobby.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CareyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights in a Japanese-style room on the 5th floor of the new building.

We paid about 800€ for room and breakfast but we don't think that this was good value for money. If we ever came back to the area, we would not stay again and opt for a place in Magomejuku.

Plus points:
1) very good Onsen facility.
2) hotel shuttle service to Nagiso station, Nagatsugawa station, Magomejuku and Tsumagojuku.
3) Close to the wonderful Nakasendo walking trail.
4) good in-house Japanese style restaurant (costs extra but it's worth it).
5) clean and hygienic.
6) friendly staff.
7) guests were low key and quiet.
8) good air conditioning.
9) fairly spacious room.
10) entrance hall is grand and old school.
11) it's very Japanese so the cultural experience is priceless

Neutral points:
1) futons were okay although we asked for two mattresses on top of one another rather than one.
2) some parts of the hotel were a bit grubby ... carpets had stains on them.
3) few staff members spoke English but we managed ....

Minus points:
1) Breakfast and dinner buffet were situated in a large hall, which was noisy and not well ventilated. I would give the food a 6 on 10 so it was nothing to write home about. We skipped the breakfast and dinner buffets after the first time we tried them. Enough said!
2) the decor is quite outdated and the room we stayed in, though clean, was in need of a lick of paint. The bathroom was rather plastic. We never used the bathroom during our stay and bathed at the Onsen.
3) not much sunlight comes into the room.
4) we noticed the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors.
5) there's nothing to do in the evenings but we didn't mind after a day of walking .... not great for a bit of a night life as the hotel is too far from cafes and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews