We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
19
22
6
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
22
6
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paro city rooms cottages limited variety hill top wonderful view stayed here for one night dining hall indian food balcony wood kingdom nature land
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We stayed at Pelri Cottage last month. The stay was plagued with 100s of issues, which many other tourists have pointed out. The resort itself is quite scenic with a wonderful view of Paro Valley. I am not big on nitpicking so won't go into these issues, however they do need to work on the food and service big time. Personally, we didn't have any issues with the room or plumbing as such. The food was quite bad though and we decided to opt for other cafes and hotels in Paro city after having it the first day here.

Room tip: Room closer to reception
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonelyCanopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing indeed. We stayed there for 1night.Initially it appeared fabulous but gradually we understood the negative points enumerated as under:-
1. The hotel/resort is under staffed.
2. The rooms are very cramped. No space to open 2 suitcases.
3. The electrical charging points are located below behind a heavy wooden table making it extremely difficult to charge the mobile phones.
4. In the late evening there was load shedding. It was very dark inside the room. After a while could find two candles in the room, thought perhaps it is a regular feature, called the reception to send a matchbox. Received no response.
5. There were plenty of dogs...adults and puppies hovering over the rooms. .making it extremely difficult to venture out of the room in the dark.
6. Late in the night a few guests arrived. ..complaining about the rooms offered to them as they had no water.
On the whole it was a bad experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ashishg489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We were booked in by our agent, for 4 nights, he assured it would be good.
When we checked in, they showed a cottage at the extreme end, lots of walking.. We wanted to be near reception! So they gave us a room near reception. We told agent we want out from this property as it looked very badly maintained & there were only 2 girls to do service for the entire property. There was no water throughout the property! Agent said he would shift us next day!
Was small, with cold wind coming in through the window cracks. Was a cold day at 4 degrees, the puny heater they gave was doing a bad job, they managed an extra blanket. The bathroom was terrible, water was pooling everywhere, on a cold day, you don't want to get into cold puddles! Was a difficult night!
A group checked in, there was chips, no water, cold or hot :) the whole group wanted to check out, they somehow pacified the group.
Next day breakfast was equally chaotic, service was slow, food below expectation...
Will not recommend it, will not stay again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Stayed here for one night during my recent trip to Bhutan. The hotel is situated on top of a hill with wonderful views from the rooms. The rooms/cottages made of wood with wooden are very cosy. The hot water in the bathroom worked well although the pressure from shower was really weak.

Since it is high up on a hill, you need to have a car on stand by if you want to visit anywhere in Paro. They don't have wi-fi in the rooms and only in the reception area. I had dinner at their restaurant and quite liked my meal. Since I had an early morning flight, I ordered for breakfast to go and this was ready when I came to check out at 7. The room service also works well and the coffee I ordered was also delivered on time to my room in the morning.

The place is generally neat and clean and as stated above, the rooms have wonderful views. Will I stay there again? Most likely not - especially since it is away from Paro town center and you need a car on stand by to get around. If your priority is to just sit around and enjoy the views, you might like the place. However, if you want a place more central to explore Paro and surroundings, this might not be the ideal location.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sriramhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I joined a group tour to Bhutan two weeks back and in Paro we were booked at Pelri Cottages (21 of us). This was a group of Senior Citizens for whom Bhutan was really wonderful until we checked into Pelri Cottages. The first look at the property was very nice and though we had some climbing to do at our age, we were ok with it as we did like the rooms. However as feedback:

1. As is the norm we were not greeted by anyone responsible on arrival. The young girl sitting at the reception desk was not trained to check in and just handed the keys of the rooms to our our group coordinator. We did our own check in and our drivers helped us to take our bags to our rooms. The 2 or 3 young girls who were I suppose housekeeping staff were busy chasing each other and playing outside instead of first taking care of the customers. However, we took that lightly as they were young girls, but as I would like to give feedback, very unprofessional.

2. As in other hotels, we were not welcomed in the traditional way with a soft drink or tea and not met by any manager. Worse still there we discovered there was no running kitchen, so even if we wanted to order some tea or coffee after a long ride from Thimpu it was not available and we were informed that we would only be served dinner.

3. When we went to our rooms, a number of us had problems, no water or electricity, no towels, dirty water in taps and such, which I briefly gave in writing to the Lady Manager who I believe is also the owner of the property. We were not complaining for the sake of complaining and things could have been easily sorted out and rectified if someone responsible had visited the rooms and checked the problems. In fact, as a norm, the hotel rooms are always prepared and kept ready for customers before alloting them rather than waiting for them to check in first. In most cases we took care of the problems ourselves however, some had problems till the next morning when things went in the wrong direction with the owners daughter-in-law as we were informed and the cleaning boy who told us he was overall in charge of the hotel, got into a spat with us, instead of trying to sort out issues politely. This being the hospitality industry, one expects polite and considerate behaviour.

We had been booked by a tour operator and were not aware of what plans were paid for. In any manner, we paid for our stay and meals and it was terribly rude leave alone illegal to tell us to get out after accepting payment for our stay. To be further discriminatory and tell us that foreigners (obviously meaning white skins) pay more, we are also foreigners in Bhutan, in no way does than mean that we should accept bad service, soiled linen and facilities that do not work. Firstly, if you have problems accepting Indian visitors, then please do not book them in your hotel. After the bad behaviour of the two people who spoke to us, we definitely did not want to stay in the hotel any more but being dependent on the tour operator we could not find enough rooms elsewhere. This ruined our whole visit to Bhutan which we had enjoyed till then. We felt very humiliated and discriminated against.

4. Rules were handed out to us to sign, but no interest was there on the part of the hotel to adhere to the same rules. Treating white skinned foreigners on priority even when serving meals and keeping us waiting is not only rude but highly discriminatory especially since timings were given by the hotel itself. For your information, the foreigners ate not only the dinner that was served to them at the table personally but also came to our buffet and ate what was served to us. Not a problem as we are happy that they liked Indian food, but the young lady who spoke to us rudely by saying we were packing our stomachs should know that there was nothing to pack in the first place. Please see what miserable breakfast was given to us. We stayed on the same plans in Punaka and Thimpu and were very well looked after.

5. One of our group members fainted because of her sugar levels falling and was asking for something to eat as she is highly diabetic, but she was refused as the 'foreigners' had to be fed first even though it was well into the time for our dinner. With no medical help available at the hotel this could have led to a serious issue if we did not have two doctors in our group who helped in time.

I hope you will understand from the above and the pictures attached that we were not in anyway expecting luxury treatment, but only basic working amenities and decent meals. We appreciate the service by two of the young ladies one of whom alone took care of our group in the dining room and helping us to get the needed things and one young girl who was at the reception. But the management was pathetic and it seems only renting out to non-whites for the sake of keeping the rooms full.

The hotel being located far from the city with a bad road access also added to our problems as it was difficult to get transport if we wanted to go out if we wanted, Phones and Wifi is limited and after one evening WiFi was deliberately switched off.

A nice get away place if the facilities are better maintained and functional, especially for whites. They do have better cottages on higher plans, but no in house dining facilities, except fixed meals which are procured from outside and of an average quality. No privately bought meals, snacks or drinks are allowed though they have a bar of sorts. This is a family run enterprise and one can't blame the staff, mainly underage girls from the village for any problems at the hotel.

This seems to be a one night stop place for tourists coming into Paro to catch an early morning flight out. The only other check ins while we were there for 3 nights, were overnight groups. One other couple were seen begging for a room change as they were without water or electricity

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YourSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews