We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
16
34
11
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
34
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taxi stand paro town small hotel no lift wooden flooring room was spacious breakfast and dinner heating
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had read a few reviews on this hotel on Tripadvisor and on some travel forums and all them were quite favorable so went head a booked this place. I was lucky to get a room as it was during the Paro Tsechu and all the hotels get completely booked during this time, was in advance.

Finding the hotel initially was a bit of a problem as our cab driver was from Thimphu and had to ask around a bit for this hotel. Once we found it, it was very easy to locate it again, it's very close to the fuel station. We were greeted by the manager Mr. Chencho who also helped us while we make booking our room. He was very friendly and helpful right till the time we checked out.

Our room was on the first floor, it was a very cosy room with wooden floor and walls, had a TV, a heater (very important), queen bed, a simple but clean bathroom and even a small balcony. It also had closet and a dressing table. Paro being a small town, everything was within walking distance. If you are traveling by bus, the bus station too is about a 5 minute walk. The hotel had a feel of a guest house with a very friendly staff and of course, everything was being managed by Mr. Chencho. He managed the reception and the restaurant during meal times. On the last day of the festival, we had gone for a ceremony very early in the morning and came back tired and hungry at around 5:30-6am. All the shops and restaurants in the market are were shut and we really didn't expect to find a place to eat anywhere, however, on getting back to the hotel, we were surprised to see the restaurant open and had a nice hearty meal.

The entire stay was very pleasant thanks to the very nice staff and the next time I visit Paro, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrumNBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 night in may 2013. It was part of a trip to Nepal-Tibet -Bhutan
The hotel is located in centre of Paro with a great view to the rice plantation.
The room was very clean, large and the food was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel is clean and provides good value for money. It is located in the city centre and most of the attractions are easily accessible from this place.

It serves Indian vegetarian food. The meals order is required to be give ahead of time and the hotel does not accept running orders.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrirang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for a night in Apr '13. It was on a biking trip to Bhutan with 3 other friends.

Being Indians, we got a very good rate here (under Rs. 2000 a night). Clean, spacious with very nice people running it.

Cons:
1. The rooms were all on the 2nd floor. There's no lift so that makes it slightly inconvenient.
2. The bathroom only has a hand-shower ... (and a bathtub). I hate bathtubs ... and it's very difficult to take a shower with a hand-shower esp. since it doesn't have a 'stand' to attach it on the wall.

Pros:
1. All the basics in place. Very clean ... 24 hour hot water from a huge boiler so the water won't become cold
2. The people are really nice. We had gone to the Taktshang Monastery for a trek & returned really late (after 3 p.m.). They didn't charge us anything extra (even though we asked them to charge us) ... saying that the Monastery is a very holy place for them & as we'd gone there, it won't be right for them to charge us!
It's not about the charge but the feeling behind it.

Overall, a very nice place to stay in Pretty Paro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nips_manny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

the hotel is fine for a backpacker on a budget

but a tourist paying USD 200 or 250 per night will find it too basic, and very noise since dogs bark all night

ask your guide for a hotel upgrade, Lonely Planet is a good reference

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews