We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,774)
Filter reviews
7,774 results
Traveler rating
2,458
2,639
1,551
637
489
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,458
2,639
1,551
637
489
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk chicken montego bay swim up bar asian restaurant every other day entertainment staff jerk hut buffet style close to the airport michael jackson show rose hall mini bar main buffet paddle boats food was great red stripe ricks cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 7,774 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

I’m currently at the Riu writing this review. When we booked our trip, we requested an early check in. I called to confirm this twice and was told that the hotel was generally empty so early check in was no problem. We arrived at 1pm and was told that the room was not ready yet. This was irritating but not the biggest deal. We had lunch and went to the pool for about 4 hours, came back to get our room and once we entered, it smelled like mildew. Additionally we were informed that only 1 sometimes 2 of the 5 restaurants on the resort were actually opened. This was not indicated on the website. When we asked for a room with a better view, we were told that we had to pay an additional $49/night. We begrudgingly agreed to that and had to wait an additional hour for that room to be ready. During this time, we decided to wait in the lobby bar to get a snack. The snacks available are...cheese and mayo sandwiches, tuna sandwiches and hot dogs. At this point we thought surely this was a joke, unfortunately it was not. We finally got to our room to get ready for dinner at the one open restaurant bedsides the buffet and our safe does not work. Now we have to wait for security to come and fix the safe. He comes, he leaves and then he comes back 30 minutes have elapsed at this point. Once he finally leaves, we attempt to go to dinner and the one restaurant that is open for the night is at capacity, never once was it indicated that we needed to arrive early. The restaurant was not full. We had no choice but to eat the buffet food. When we get to the buffet, all of the food is congealed, cold and stale. I’m currently sitting at the buffet writing this review whilst gnawing on stale bread and a piece of cheese. Save yourself the headache and disappointment, DO NOT STAY HERE. I want to leave here immediately and stuck here for 5 days

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank Amanso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear Amanso83,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your current stay with us.

We regret to read that your first impressions of the resort have not lived up to your expectations and you encountered the above mentioned inconveniences. The Front Desk is always glad to look into any concern that our guest may have. For this reason, we always encourage our visitors to contact our Front Desk staff in order to resolve any issues.

We sincerely hope that during the rest of your vacation we are able to change your perspective about our services and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best of hopes!

Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Had a relaxing stay! Restaurants were now open. Great food. Courteous service. Friendly staff. Protocols observed. Love the new look of the rooms! Enjoyed not feeling cramped in a large hotel. There are so many places to relax!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
2  Thank RYW876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review!

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to our property and would be glad to welcome you back for another fabulous stay!

Kind regards

Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

I arrived at the Riu Montego Bay with eight others. I found the checkin process was lengthy; as there were only a few individuals checking in. I paid for an upgrade for an oceanfront room 6029. Upon arrival I entered a musky room. I immediately called the Front Desk who had be moved to room 6224. That room was just as bad. I spoke with StaceyAnn and another young lady. Supposedly my complaint was escalated to the public relations person. I was informed that was not entitled to a refund as it was immediately reported. There was a flood in the building. **Full refund should be issued for upgrade.**

Then next fiasco was the CoVid testing process. After checkin in, StaceyAnn gave me a QR code to scan tact linked to Hospiten. Thereafter, I uploaded the required info. I received a confirmation Friday at 721p with the appointment time Saturday 230p. Friday I had to stay on-site all day as I was waiting for the appointment time. Then Saturday would have been the same. I was told to show up in the lobby at 930a Saturday and get a number. This started a lot of confusion. I received #14 from AnneMarie Security Manager. It took almost three hours to get the rapid test done. My excursion to Ocho Rios was delayed. I was frustrated and annoyed.; and upset with the process. **The process needs to revamped.**

On a positive note the property was renovated last year and looks clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Michelle P,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review.

As much as we are thankful for your kind words on the friendly service of our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, we regret to hear that you encountered some inconveniences in regards to the PCR-tests which are offered during our guests' stay. In case you wish, we kindly invite you to raise a formal complaint through our After Travel Customer Care at complaints@riu.com. Our colleagues will be happy to attend you!

It is our sincerest hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you with a better experience.

Best wishes,

Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

The Good:
Resort is 10 mins from airport.
The country and hotel recently back up and running but with limitations. Adults only resort. Property has great views, overlooks Sandals over water bungalows, beach spacious and clean with plenty of natural shade and chairs. Staff does their best to accomodate the guests. Service is good but slow at times.
Booked a spa service at Renova spa first full day- The Renova signature massage is wonderful- Natasha was amazing. Best service at the resort. Spa is clean and well equipped.
- Riu was refurbished last year. Rooms are large, clean but simple and have great views from the oceanfront rooms.
Common areas, pool and beach nicely redone and plenty of room to spread out. Lots of activity choices- watersports, boating, tours.
Food is typical island food. Simple dishes. Lots of jerk chicken.

The Bad:
Check in took 2 hours;
Covid testing application for an appt. took 30 minutes after check in. One person at that desk.
Rooms smelled like mold- Resort had a flood last year after refurbishment. We were charged an upgrade fee for oceanfront and had to relocate from that upgraded room because of the mold smell. One of our party had someone already assigned to her room before they were able to move her. New guest already had keys. One person in our party upgraded to oceanfront and wasnt charged for an upgrade like some of us were. To not charge one of our party an upgrade and charge the rest of us was pretty disgusting. The resort should reimburse us the upgrade cost.
Fridge in room not stocked with water. Resort rationed water as well. They would only give you 1 large bottle at a time. Had to replenish everyday. Requested a makeup mirror on the app and by phone but never received it. Room amenities nonexistent. Housekeepers were noisy in the hallway early in the morning getting their carts ready.
Food choices were poor. Cheap cuts of meat except for the chicken and served same dishes everyday. Ran out of buffet food late afternoon 1st day. All restaurants closed except for buffet, a lunch grill and one specialty restaurant operating per evening. Get there by 6-6:15 or you won’t get seating. Unlimited alcohol but if you want a better wine you have to order it and pay extra. House wine quality was poor. My party complained the liquor was watered down. Entertainment weak.
The Ugly:
Covid testing process was a disaster. We were told one thing before arrival and one after. Had to delay outings due to unsurity of when we would be tested. Some got email notification of test appt some didnt. We waited 2.5 hrs line to
get tested. The test was free of charge. Riu resort guests from sister resorts in the mix. Guests angry at disorganized process. Resort ignored the appts and gave numbers randomly at 9:30 AM daily first come first served but changed it back after there was almost a riot in the lobby. Some guests were leaving in less than 24 hours and hadnt been tested yet.
There were alot of young noisy adults in the pools, in the hallways and rooms late at night. The resort says no spring breakers but they were there.
All in all if you want to go to the Carribean during this pandemic you will hv to be very flexible. Riu Montego Bay is not a 4 star resort, its more like a 3. It’s the kind of resort for young adults who like to party who arent concerned with an upgraded room or a foody experience.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
6  Thank Janie458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Dear Janie458 ,

Thank you for choosing Riu!

As much as we are thankful for your kind words on the professional service of our staff, the beautiful views and the activities, we are disappointed to learn that that you encountered some less pleasant issues in our property as mentioned in your review.

This is certainly not the impression we would like to pass on to our guests and not representative of our standards. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. Certainly, guest feedback is absolutely essential to us and we always appreciate the opportunity to improve our guests' experiences at our hotel. Your impressions will be forwarded to the responsible department an appropriate follow up.

We hope you can give us an opportunity to change your perception into a positive one.

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2021

The people were so friendly, the resort was clean and safe. They were on point with making sure we got our COVID test. It was beautiful great place for couples to relax and get away. The experience was one I will never forget

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank lexicon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews