We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
168
106
24
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
168
106
24
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river fire pit the cottages self catering fur kids hiking trails pet friendly place bird life great getaway run free get away relaxing weekend will visit again run around peace and quiet enjoyed our stay braai area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In short I will visit again. I recommend this to anyone with or without children and dogs. I loved that we could take our dog child with she had the best time ever!! It was the best time for everyone.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magsonhester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annatjie Geldenhuys, Owner at Saamrus Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review. Hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

We arrived late the Friday and absolutely loved the peacefulness after a busy week. The most important was that I could take my dogs with and they loved it. We could go for walkies and I could take their leashes off and the could just run next to the river.
Saturday we went to explore and found out that even where we stay feels far from anything it was close to some beautiful places to have breakfast and per friendly of course. I will definitely book another weekend.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank edelport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annatjie Geldenhuys, Owner at Saamrus Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thank you for this great review! It makes makes all the hard work worth while. Looking forward to you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing long weekend. We so enjoyed our stay. Everything we required was supplied and the staff were helpful and friendly. We will definitely be booking again for our next visit. The dogs really enjoyed the walks and the views were stunning. Thank you

Warm regards
Denice Oldfield

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Dreamer38294945681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annatjie Geldenhuys, Owner at Saamrus Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thank you for this great review. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2021

Had a very pleasant weekend at Saamrus.

Pros: The cottage was very cozy and secluded, with a fence to keep the dogs from exploring without supervision. Can't fault the facilities, really comfy. The cottages are far apart, giving you a real sense of privacy. The paths, down by the river, are well maintained and a good stroll for the pets and their people. "Welcome" chocolates were a nice touch, as well as the super-sized water bowl for the dogs.

Cons: The garden area was a little unkept, with plenty of "paper" thorns that kept us and the dogs tip-toeing whenever we left the verandah. Was also a little overgrown and the bench at the fire bit was completely dominated by the bush, rendering it useless. The location is outside the city, but close to a relatively busy/noisy road which is obviously unavoidable. Also, the music from the nearby village can be heard at times. It's a pity that the longer walks are on community land and, therefore, not maintained. Maps are supplied, but the paths are so overgrown that you often find yourself slogging through the long grass, hoping to bump into the path.

All in all, not a bad option.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mzansi_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annatjie Geldenhuys, Owner at Saamrus Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thank you for your comments. We will keep it in mind for future improvments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2021

What a great getaway for both us and pur dogs. Very secure yard, and so much space outside to run around and very well kept walking trails. We stayed in Tarentaal en there was everything you would need for a getaway. Please do visit this gem

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stella1bosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annatjie Geldenhuys, Owner at Saamrus Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thank you for the five star review! We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews