We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
great long weekend spot

We were there for a camp (for our daughter and her chums) and cottage (for her aging parents). It... read more

Reviewed 2 March 2021
RoddyPayne
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Simply Serene

Enjoyed the stay here very much. The hikes take you on beautiful routes and there are many awesome... read more

Reviewed 21 January 2020
Candicedj85
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Read all 114 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Magaliesburg
from US$221.50
More Info
from US$104.15
More Info
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
44
40
9
5
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
44
40
9
5
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic amenities beautiful scenery camping facilities hiking trail nature escarpment fridge route monkeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2021

What an amazing place out in the wild. I can def recommend this venue for getting back to nature. We loved every second of it.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank TanyaS3286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

We were there for a camp (for our daughter and her chums) and cottage (for her aging parents). It was fullish on the Saturday but emptied out over Sunday and Monday was quiet and empty. The camp site was basic but fine and the cabins were great - just enough to feel a bit of comfort, but not over the top.

The staff were supportive and available.

The place is not so easy to get to , but it is lovely. located on the north slopes of the mountain there is a great series of walks to the escarpment as well as to the river pools on the east and west side.

When you walk you must find your own path and we saw giraffe, zebra, and different types of buck as they roam freely over the 1 000 hectare park.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank RoddyPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Spent a weekend at Mountain Sanctuary Park. The scenery was lovely. Good mountain views, pleasant hiking trail and a superb pool and deck area. However the cabin in which my group stayed was very disappointing. The cabin was unclean. Floors were dirty, found rodent feces in the bedroom, dead insects under the duvet covers. There was a squirrel living in the cabin that ruined some food and urinated on the fridge, the squirrel was able to enter even though all the windows were firmly closed because of the poor construction of the cabin that left gaps between the walls and roof. These gaps were also present between the upper loft area and the rooms and toilet downstairs. All the door handles were either broken or so stiff you had to struggle to open and close them, every hinge was rusted and made a loud noise whenever opened. The fridge was far too small for the amount of people that can be accommodated in the cabin. There were no scissors provided. The towels provided were too small for adults. The duvets on the single beds were also too small, couldn't cover an average size person underneath it. No anti-slip mat in the tub shower. Lastly the unit was very expensive considering the quality, the fact that no cleaning service was provided, and the basic amenities. I would suggest renting out the unit as a whole not per person.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank WanderingTravelerVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2021

This a large park, completely untouched except for the camp area and the trails. A perfect place to enjoy the mountains and nature. The camp has a central area for campers and caravans, with the outside area comprising units of different sizes and facilities.

We stayed in Chalet 3, ideal for a couple with many amenities available including a good fridge, gas cooker, cutlery and crockery. Due to COVID-19 we took our own sheets, blankets, and pillows, since they are not providing these during these times.

The staff were all friendly and all were strictly wearing masks.

The swimming pool, a little way away from the units, is large although the seats are quite uncomfortable, and some cushions would be welcome.

We took two of the walks while there. The West Pools, for which we could not find the route down to the pools themselves, and also to the Slide Pools, which is an easier walk and the pools are incredible. Take good walking shoes since there are places where you will need these. The walks are in the open and suggest that you take hats and suntan lotion as well.

We ate at the restaurant on two nights and really enjoyed the food and also the exceptional view into the distance.

We found that the pricing is reasonable for what is provided, and we found that the roads to the camp are also good, although not perfect.

There is a small shop there, but it does not offer much, and suggest that you bring everything you need before you here to the camp. There are no shops close to the camp.

We will be back, and perhaps a few times per year. A perfect place to get away from the city, from TV, from the noises (no noise allowed after 9pm).

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank rogerlayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Enjoyed the stay here very much. The hikes take you on beautiful routes and there are many awesome view points. We were lucky enough to spot some animals such as monkeys and hares. We didn't try the restaurant on site as there were no vegan/vegetarian options. The log cabins do get uncomfortably and ridiculously hot in the summer months though, one finds little relief from the fans provided. Maybe screens on the windows could be installed so one can open windows without having insects coming in at night... Apart from that, the cabins have the necessities and are clean.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Candicedj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews