We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
9
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
1
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Don't confuse my five star rating; it is a two star pension house. They provided a bed, bathroom and not much else, but they did it well. The staff was great on every level, providing prompt and friendly service. We liked the small patio and the location is right where we wanted to be.

We were surprised by what they did not provide: toilet paper, soap, drinking water and other necessities cost extra. But it wasn't that much. We were pleased with the laundry service they provided and we did not mind paying that.

We felt safe the entire week. The guards were friendly and as helpful as the rest of the staff.

We would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MGMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvoryPensionHouse, General Manager at Ivory Pension House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you sir for a very honest and fair review. Our aim has always been to provide clean amenities at a reasonable price. We encourage our staff to be courteous and honest in order to serve guests like you better. Please feel free to email us if you have further suggestions regarding our place, at ivorypensionhouse@gmail.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We just booked a room good for 6 persons. Though it's quite small, it's worth the price. Wifi is not that good that we need to use our own data connection. Parking area is enough for guests. Just a walking distance to Linketkai mall and Robinsons.

Room tip: Book in advance. Check their website.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 12weibind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvoryPensionHouse, General Manager at Ivory Pension House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

We have taken your concerns seriously sir and have added wireless routers to improve our wifi service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We were a party of 6, we wanted to stay at their room that is good for 6 but it was currently under renovation, instead we took the 2 family rooms that is good for 3.

The rooms are clean and the airconditioning is sufficient, they have hot water and showers. The location is right behind Mulberry hotel and near Robinsons Mall Complex a 3 minute walk, where you can buy supplies and souvenirs. They also serve breakfast here.

Free wifi is also available :)

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Algene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Ivory Pension House is located beside Mulberry Hotel, behind its parking lot. It's location is very accessible since it is just walking distance from Limketkai Mall Robinsons Parking lot and a 10-minute tricycle ride from Centrio Ayala Mall. This place is very ideal for thrift travellers who want to experience Cagayan de Oro City without a heavy baggage of expenses.

Their rooms are small but cozy and has good airconditioning, free wifi, and hot shower. No toiletries but there are towels. The staff are very accommodating and are very easy to talk to. They offer breakfast food and also allow wine inside the room.

Since its very affordable and its locations is very ideal, they cannot assure vacant rooms on your preferred date and they don't accept reservations for single beds. I suggest you call their landline first and make sure there are still available rooms before going there.

landline: 63+(88) 3095252 or 3231201

Single (1 bed) - Php 650 (no reservations. 1st come, first served only)
Single Deluxe (1 bed) - Php 750 (no reservations. 1st come, first served only)
Double Standard (2 single beds) - Php 850
Queen Standard (Matrimonial) - Php 850
Deluxe Double (2 single beds)- Php 950
Deluxe Queen (Matrimonial) - Php 950
Family (for 3 persons) - Php 1,150
Group Deluxe (for 6 persons) - Php 1,600

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iyadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2015

If you are looking for no-nonsense, affordable accommodations in Cagayan de Oro, Ivory Pension House is a good choice. It's a practical option for those looking for basic comforts - clean and comfortable room, complete with TV and cable, fast WiFi internet connection and good working air conditioning.

Service is superb as the staff go the extra mile in ensuring you have a comfortable stay at their hostel. When I was there, a typhoon hit the province, bringing torrential rains and strong gusts of wind. We lost power a couple of times but the management did it's best to keep our rooms cozy and lit. The staff made rounds informing people when power will be out.

Filipino breakfast food is offered all day long, though it's a bit pricey. Still you have the option to eat out.

The hostel is also strategically-located, right smack at the center of the city. It's very close to the city's better malls Limketkai and Ayala Centrio, with access to all public transpo.

One downside for the Solo rooms don't have hot water.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay in this hostel. Greatly recommended for those on a budget.

Room tip: The solo rooms are very spacious and perfect for the lonesome traveller
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvoryPensionHouse, General Manager at Ivory Pension House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for a great review sir. We have now upgraded and renovated all our rooms. All our bathrooms are now equipped with hot and cold showers, including our single rooms. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews