We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balay de la Rama(Legazpi)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Venezia(Legazpi)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balai Tinay Guesthouse(Legazpi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayon Backpackers Hostel(Legazpi)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
27
74
49
16
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
74
49
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslcc mallcrossroads cafesmall elevatorlegazpi cityballroom dancingthe free airport shuttlerecommended hotelsmall selectionprices are reasonablepacific mallearly checkswimming poolhotel is locatedfront officeala carte menuroom was spaciouslocal dishes
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed here for 10 days. Shuttle service is time-bound so if you have a very early flight, chances are they won't have a driver available to pick you up. Still, taking a cab from the airport isn't much of a hassle. You could say that this hotel is in the heart of the city, near the main rotunda where malls, shops and parks are located.

The hotel itself shows signs of age, with many facilities needing regular maintenance. We used several function rooms for training seminars, including their auditorium/theater room and the top floor ballroom. The function/meeting rooms are small if your group numbers in the 20s, but for intimate corporate meetings in smaller groups, it would be perfect. The top floor ballroom is huge and can be divided into two. Their theater/auditorium has a balcony level and stage--great for theatrical performances or awarding ceremonies, but make sure it's fully packed as doing the opposite can give off an eerie feeling (this hotel has some age already).

The (free) buffet breakfast is pretty decent, but not really international standard if you'd ask me, since there never was any bacon served during my entire stay. There is an egg station, though (some days it was gone, but you could ask the waiters for eggs served your way). Their ala carte menu is a lot better. Try their local specalties. Weekend nights have entertainment (local musicians and sometimes ballroom dancing) in addition to a buffet dinner.

Overall ambiance is nice, the lobby has a high ceiling and rocking chairs in addition to the comfy sofas.

P.S. their ground floor lobby toilets are equipped with high-tech Japanese toilet seats--complete with automized adjustable water spray, bidet, air drying, and heated seating.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TomPuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStEllis, Manager at Hotel St. Ellis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for taking to time to write a review for Hotel St. Ellis.

For the shuttle service to guests with early flights, we do offer that free of charge. We just have to be informed prior so we can arrange the early drop off or pick-up to and from the airport.

With our function rooms, we have started some maintenance and repair to different areas little by little. As we can't initiate an immediate repair due to heavy occupancy of the hotel and constant event bookings from different entities.

Thank you also for appreciating the surroundings of the hotel and the meals offered at our Crossroads cafe' (restaurant). With the breakfast served, we do have some sequence on a daily basis but would still base on the availability of some items that we shall offer.

Warmest regards,


Hotel St. Ellis Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2016

A bit expensive, but a pleasant place to stay. Room was good, staff were pleasant and helpful. Its close to the LCC mall and some great street food venues at night. The harbour is only a short tricyle ride away and we also spent time exploring Lignon Hill and Busay Falls. Great views of Mt Mayon from the hotel in the morning before the clouds roll in.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandpiper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Hotel St. Ellis is located few meters from JP Rizal and Quezon Ave. about 60 meters from Ayala Mall Legazpi and 40 meters from LCC Mall. This is located beside a new boutique hotel -- Tyche.

Hotel St. Ellis is a high-end hotel in Legazpi City. A bit pricey, but rooms spacious and other amenities are available -- Pool, Bar, Restaurant, with WiFi connection.

They have a promo from time to time.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
Thank SherwinJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We were stranded at Legaspi airport after our cancelled flight and asked the van driver to take us to the hotel. The hotel staff here are much more professional than the staff at The Oriental hotel which costs twice the price.
The hotel is centrally located and close to malls and jeepney transport. Our room was on the 5th floor. It was reasonably decorated with a nice big bed. Everything worked and the cleaning was done to a good standard. We did not get charged extra for check in to our flight and printing of boarding pass like at other bigger hotels. All I can say is I enjoyed my stay here at this Hotel St Ellis.
There was only one down side when we had dinner in crossroads cafe and was not pleased with our food and the attitude of the server. But that is easily resolved by not eating in the cafe again.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Well done to the Hotel staff

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Welcome drinks was given upon our arrival which was a great. We were lucky they had a promo during our stay and we only paid 2,900Php each for a Deluxe adjoining room. My Parents room had a King size bed while my sister & I had 2 twin beds in our room. Rooms were clean & stocked well. Unfortunately it was quite noisy at night. I can hear the cars passing & people talking. Breakfast was typical Filipino cuisine but they have a made to order omelette station. We decided to extend our stay but since the hotel was fully booked by a group we were moved to a Junior suite which was at a higher promo rate of 3,200 Php/night. The staff did everything for us & moved our things to the new room so it was hassle free. However I had issues with the bathroom drainage, water was pooling when I took a shower in the Junior suite. I also hope the hotel will do something about the sewage stink if you go through the backdoor exit it usually reeks all the way to the front desk area.
To cap my review I'd say this is a good hotel to stay in, it has a classy victorian feel & staff are willing to make your stay as great as possible. One other good perk at staying at this hotel is the free Airport shuttle.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank GoaliesMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews