We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throughly recommended”
Review of Sanon

Sanon
Ranked #2 of 175 Restaurants in Bagan
Description: The Sanon Training Restaurant is a non-profit social enterprise. 'Sanon' meaning turmeric pays homage to classic Burmese influences. You'll experience local creative cuisine and receive great service. We focused on providing fantastic food and service but also changing the lives of disadvantaged youth by giving them first class training in hospitality and by providing meaningful employment opportunities. So come and visit us, relax, enjoy our clean but comfortable amenities, try some fantastic food and support a very worthy cause. Sanon is a non-profit social enterprise, all profits from the restaurant go to maintaining the restaurant, the students and our training program. We strive to make the restaurant as self-sufficient as possible but to keep operating we still need the support of generous patrons. See more information at: http://www.sanon-restaurant.org/index.php/how-you-can-help
Restaurant details
Description: The Sanon Training Restaurant is a non-profit social enterprise. 'Sanon' meaning turmeric pays homage to classic Burmese influences. You'll experience local creative cuisine and receive great service. We focused on providing fantastic food and service but also changing the lives of disadvantaged youth by giving them first class training in hospitality and by providing meaningful employment opportunities. So come and visit us, relax, enjoy our clean but comfortable amenities, try some fantastic food and support a very worthy cause. Sanon is a non-profit social enterprise, all profits from the restaurant go to maintaining the restaurant, the students and our training program. We strive to make the restaurant as self-sufficient as possible but to keep operating we still need the support of generous patrons. See more information at: http://www.sanon-restaurant.org/index.php/how-you-can-help
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

A fantastic restaurant not just for the great food but also a fantastic cause. The staff are young trainee Burmese people being taught hospitality skills with all profits being reinvested into the training, and tips being spread between the students. All the staff we dealt with were fantastic and the food was delicious. So good we went back twice.

Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Webmaster at Sanon, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, its great you enjoyed your time with us. We aim to make a practical and tabgible difference in the lives and future opportunities of our students. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 412 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

After a morning of exploring the temples of Bagan, we decided to visit this restaurant after reading about it online. It’s a training school that aims to train 30 students a year, find them employment and then monitor them for a further 2 years. My husband and I were not disappointed. I had the beef curry and he had the stir fried pork, both of which tasted amazing. The portion sizes were perfect for lunch and the restaurant setting is perfect. We’d highly recommend anyone staying in Bagan to pay this place a visit and support a good cause.

Thank StephD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Webmaster at Sanon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank for your review and encouragment for other travellers to visit us, we need all the support we can get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

First resto I visited during stay in Bagan. Service was good, knowing they are a trainee. Food was good too. Just need more improvement in food presentation and menu. I am not fans of curry, but their prawn curry tasted good for me.

Thank Mario_Epe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Webmaster at Sanon, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

We are a training restaurant for disadvantaged youth. Although our main aim is to improve to life opportunities of our students we also constantly strive to improve our dishes and service and all feedback is appreciated which is an important part of this process so thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

The food was great, the staff was really friendly and they had great service. I recommend Sanon restaurant not only because of the food, but because of what they do and who they help along the way!

Thank Marthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Webmaster at Sanon, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it great you enjoyed your visit to Sanon and support that change we are trying to bring to the lives of our disadvantaged students.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

The fundamentals and idea behind this organisation is sound. They train, recruit and prepare under-privileged young Myanmar people for a career in hospitality. Food is a lovely choice of western and Asian, and if you are in need of a good, sustainable and ethical coffee fix, this is the place to go. 10 out of 10.

Thank Fransandheini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Webmaster at Sanon, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, its great you enjoyed your visit to Sanon and gave us such a great recommendation. All funds made by the restaurant or donated by generous patrons go to supporting its continued operation, pay the salaries of the local staff, support the students and maintain our ongoing training program. No funds leave Myanmar or are used to cover the costs of the directors of MYDI who established and manage the strategic direction of the training restaurant and it's training program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanon also viewed

 
Nyaung U, Bagan
 

Been to Sanon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing