We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Rafting El Chalten

Rafting El Chalten
Ranked #1 of 14 Tours in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The experience starts when the passengers arrive to our headquarters located in El Chalten. Visitors are given the necessary rafting equipment. The first 4 Km have calm and quiet water with the Fitz Roy at your back. Afterwards, we go over a deep ravine where we are able to enjoy a series of rapids for 8 Km. The speed ok the river keeps you alert up to the last 2 Km where we return to calm water. Important: Available from 12 years old (from 12 to 18, minors must be accompanied by their parents or legal tutor).
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 19 April 2018

This was so much fun! Had an incredible time and felt the crew did a great job keeping us safe while making sure we still had a great time!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank megantatusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Rafting El Chalten, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thanks a lot for your review!
Great you really enjoyed the experience! our staff is amazing and very professional!
Cordially
Staff Rafting El Chalten - MilOutdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great alternative"
in 3 reviews
"dry suit"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 2 reviews
"kayak"
in 5 reviews
"drysuits"
in 4 reviews
"safety"
in 5 reviews
"equipment"
in 8 reviews
"adrenaline"
in 2 reviews
"jumping"
in 3 reviews
"emotions"
in 2 reviews
"rafted"
in 2 reviews
"scenery"
in 3 reviews
"photos"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018

Our group went on this tour in the morning. Great experience, and this is not my first time rafting. Great views of the mountains behind you as you work your way through the rapids. The wetsuits are great too

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank vegitajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Rafting El Chalten, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Many thanks for your review!
El Chalten and the Rios de las Vueltas are both an amazing scenery for that experience!
Kind regards
Staff Rafting El Chalten - MilOutdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Me and my family spent about 2 weeks in Argentina and 2 nights (3 days) in El Chalten, but this was the highlight of our trip. The wonderful guides, who spoke English perfectly, gave us watertight suits that would allow the majority of our bodies to stay dry and warm (ish) . They kept us safe with one guide in the boat and one guide in a kayak taking pictures, watching from a distance. We had great views of the mountains and the near by glaciers. The only thing was that our hands and feet were very cold so if anybody is thinking about doing this awesome excursion, I would recommend bringing very warm (or thick) neoprene gloves and some warm wool socks. They had some snacks and warm drinks in the car on the way back to the town which was greatly appreciated. The water was extremely cold because it was melted glacier water. The guide called, "Lolly", made the trip very fun by always being exciting and keeping us on our feet (literally). If you are thinking about bringing a action camera, AKA a GoPro, I would highly recommend bringing it because they have a few helmets with mounts for the cameras and if you are looking for a another view point, Lolly can put the GoPro on his head to film you and your family. They make sure that you know how to paddle, what to do in every possible situation of falling out of the boat, and the names of every rapid and rock formation along with the names of the mountains. Overall, this trip is for people who are willing to do some physical activity in the upper body. I have two kids the ages of 13 and 15 who were the perfect ages for this activity.

Thank Mako S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Rafting El Chalten, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Mako S
Thanks a lot for your great review!
We are glad you and your family enjoyed the Rafting and the experience!!!!
Many thanks for your recomnendation about gloves and socks!
Regards
Staff Rafting El Chalten - Mil Outdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

What a rush! This was such a great experience. I felt very safe and well informed on the raft. We had a very experienced guide. I love every minute, the laughter and screams. A great way to see a different side to Patagonia and also an nice change from hiking. Finished the rafting dry. The suits were warm and didn’t leak at. All. We got warm tea and muffins on the way back and they took great pictures during the rafting. I would highly recommend it. No experience is needed as they teach you everything you need to know.

Thank leesh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Rafting El Chalten, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks a lot for your review!!
Glad you enjoyed the experience!!
Kind regards
Staff Rafting El Chalten - MilOutdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Great experience rafting in el chalten ! They were very good in providing instructions in English and offered all of the right gear (onesie under dry suit to stay warm, booties, helmet etc.) I was able to wear leggings and shirt underneath as well.) I was warm the entire time (besides hands a couple of occasions but they adjust to 4 degree Celsius water temperature surprisingly quickly). The guides were very fun and engaging. The rapids were not overly overwhelming but a great way to experience rafting for first time !! Overall it was a really fun and enjoyable experience. We would recommend anyone to do it :)

Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Rafting El Chalten, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks a lot Melanie B for your nice review and recommendation!
Kind regards
Staff Rafting El Chalten - Mil Outdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting El Chalten also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Rafting El Chalten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing