We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lago del Desierto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Las Piedras(El Chalten)
View Hotel
Thiamalu(El Chalten)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lunajuim(El Chalten)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Guanaca(El Chalten)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Senderos(El Chalten)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria El Puma(El Chalten)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
6
22
14
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
22
14
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomtwo nightsinternetbreakfasthostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2017

We travelled in high season and so there was little choice when we came to book a place in El Chaltern - we stayed for 3 nights.

El Chalten appears more expensive than other areas in Chile & Argentina we've visited and compared to those, it wasn't particularly good value as the room was tiny and the cost more expensive.

The room was a twin on the first floor with a view of the mountain. We had to push the 2 beds together to make enough room to put our luggage on the floor (2 large bags +2 hand-luggage). The beds were not particularly comfortable either.
Private bathroom with nice shower.

Breakfast was the usual fayre for Chile but also included scrambled eggs.

The staff were quite pleasant and the room was cleaned every day.

5 mins walk from the bus station, shops, restuarants, tour offices all within easy walking distances.

Overall ok, but disappointed with our room which was too tiny to have stayed longer than we did.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank caulifl0wercheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

Standards are not very high in El Chalten so a even though this is called a hotel, it is more of a hostal. Staff is friendly and internet slow, like everywhere in el chalten. OK beds is a bit tired rooms. Good for sleeping and a nice hot shower. Not a decent chair in the hotel to sit in. They do accept creditcards. OK value.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank MarijnHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016 via mobile

Gabriel & Nicolas are both humble, lovely people who run the hotel.

The rooms vary throughout the hotel. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, they both have heaters which was nice. The first room we stayed in was a double upstairs, it was a tight fit with our our packs but comfortable and clean. With big windows which were really nice to allow fresh air in the day.
We moved into a twin room downstairs which had a lot more space in the room and the bathroom as well. My only comment is there is no window for ventilation.
The breakfast each morning is great (scrambled eggs on toast) can't ask for more.
The hotel is basic, clean, homey & friendly and has everything you need.
You're supposed to get outside & enjoy the walks in El Chalten anyways!
We had a great stay thank you :)

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank sunshine_gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

This hotel is of very good value in El Chalten. Good location close to bus terminal, supermarkets and restaurants. The rooms are quiet and adequate. Beds are comfortable.

The breakfast is very basic. See my photos attached.

Wifi is exceptionally good considering it's in El Chalten. Ping latency 8ms. Download speed 1Mbps. Upload speed 0.88Mbps.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs closer to the reception may have better wifi signal.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank committedmacysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

A very comfortable hotel run by a lovely couple who are keen that your stay is happy. Good views of Mt Fitzroy. Clean and spacious bedrooms. Good location (where isn't in El Chalten?). Good breakfast - the eggs could be better. Why five stars when it's not perfect? The owners are lovely people. This is a very reasonably-priced hotel. Go for it. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews