We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody there at lunchtime.. zero atmosphere or ambience”
Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Price range: US$11 - US$52
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Country Pub and Restaurant set in the area of outstanding natural beauty in the South Shropshire Hills. Home to great food and drink and in a great location just off the A49 The Station Inn is also home to 6 beautiful heated camping pods, a camping field plus Blazing Bikes; a mountain bike and outdoor leisure shop. With lots of room to park, two patio areas, the bar and restaurant The Station Inn is a gem and one to tick of the list of been theres!
Reviewed 17 September 2021

We met friends for lunch and had booked a table. We were the only customers that day, surrounded by empty tables.. I suppose we should say there was no problem with social distancing.. service was OK . Fish and chips poor, chicken Caesar salads were fine. We would not go back.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ar0undweg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2021

Upon arrival your greeted by a shocking smell of sewage which wasn’t pleasant!
Booked in at the bar, served drinks before sitting down. The wine was cheap and nasty.
No menus given, no explanation of how the system worked, other than being told someone will collect you in moment. Was told to go get food, no options other than beef or lamb, very poor section of veg, carrots raw! Gravy tasteless! Nothing seasoned! We arrived at 12.15 and left by 12.45! Below poor! Save your time and money and keep driving past! Such a shame as the environment inside was lovely but food did not match up! Also shop brought Yorkshire puddings!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank banger1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2021

My girlfriend and I visited The Station Inn for a date night in August 2021 whilst on holiday. The steaks were amazing, we both had the 16oz Rump Steak and they were cooked perfectly! We loved the fact you could see them cutting the steaks at the back of the restaurant, showing just how fresh the meal was you were eating! The staff were all extremely helpful and the service was super fast. I would love to return to the Station Inn next time I am in that area of the world.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank freddy_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Really lovely pub, the food is top notch and the drinks are very affordable. Highly recommend the pork belly bites and the rump steak, it’s also very clean with great service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank SaartjieNaartjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

The food was incredible start to finish. The staff were very friendly to our 2 dogs. The service was unbeatable and every dish went without a wait (when they seemed busy!). Very impressed and we cannot wait to return.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Little Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.