We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch & Drinks”
Review of The Gun

The Gun
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Heathfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: When walking on the Wealden Way we recommend taking the time to discover The Gun, an atmospheric pub-restaurant on the outskirts of Heathfield, East Sussex. This fifteenth century pub is full of period charm and countryside comfort, the interior carefully decorated to create light and space, bringing a touch of the modern to ancient bare bricks, wood panelling and stripped back flooring with simple, elegant but robust furnishings. An extensive landscaped garden is perfect for families, providing play equipment for children while maintaining the peace and quiet of a true country retreat. At The Gun���s bar, you���ll find all manner of well kept real ales as well as a wide selection of quality wines, while the food menu is celebrated locally for its great pies, seasonal game dishes and continental specialties, all created using locally sourced, fresh produce. Whether a snowy winters day or a hot summer evening, The Gun has a perfect atmosphere to suit, indoors or out, for dinner or just a few drinks and a bite to eat.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Booked a table as required and sat down on time and served by the lovely 'Immy ' she took our order with all the precautions in place, very busy being the hottest day so far !
Starters took awhile but once up and running everything came and exceeded expectations !

Very enjoyable and thank you Immy !

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank MiketheFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Marketing at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for your review. Immy will be so pleased with your feedback! We cant wait to see you again ☀

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2021

Had a lovely dinner, love the option to have a starter dish as a main.
Great service by Megan B, fast and attentive.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 737theat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Marketing at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

We have eaten here many times over the last 5 years. The service has always been rather hit or miss. This time pleasant enough but had to keep attracting waiting staff attention- )left with finishing plates in front of us for at least 20 minutes etc). Pizzas were good always but other courses really not great. A sharing plate of hummus with just 2 tiny triangles of pitta. Overly salty lamb dish with minimal greens and a reheated Sussex smoky that was dry and flaky rather than rich and creamy. The gazebo was unattractive- it served the purpose ie kept off the wind and rain but as a likely long term arrangement suggest it needs some more attractive lighting, potted plants etc to create some ambience

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank julietWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Owner at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, all feedback is extremely appreciated. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food and do hope we get to see you again to make up for this experience. Your feedback will be passed onto the General Manager and Head Chef to ensure future improvements are made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Great to be out after lockdown for a meal to celebrate my wifes birthday. Food and service excellent. Table for 5 in the outdoor marquee on Sunday afternoon - perfect!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Owner at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021

so first of all, know that the gun is part of a chain. i've eaten here 4 times, 3 times in the last month. Excellent selections for vegetarians and vegans, large varied menu. i've had great meals here and had average meals, but on the whole it's good and the food tastes as good as the menu looks. i'd personally recommend there pizza's, one of the best pizza's i've ever had was from here. goats cheese, carmelised onions, pine nuts, balsamic glaze and fresh mint, sounds odd but the flavours are a dream in your mouth. Also had an excellent seasonal dish called the 'Hedgerow Salad', pigeon breast, pumpkin, blackcurrant salad.. delicous and so so seasonal and british. do try, i hope you enjoy it!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gourmetvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Thank you so much for your detailed review and recommendation, we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy the food, and we hope you visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gun also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.