We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was required”
Review of Herringbone

Herringbone
Ranked #13 of 42 Restaurants in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in for a quick pre-prandial, prior to lunch at Greywalls down the road. Lovely ambience and surrounds - friendly staff - quality cocktails and an interesting range of wines and craft ales. My only gripe is that there is no cask ale (or at least none that I could see). I would have loved a 'proper' pint although it was also interesting to be cast into the realms of craft ale. We didn't try the food but will make sure that we do on our next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerringboneNB, General Manager at Herringbone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Diptych

Thanks for the review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Herringbone and thank you for your kind comments regarding our team and venue.

We would love to have some cask ale on our bar but unfortunately due to our cellar placement this is not possible. As we cant do this we try and offer a broad selection of draught, bottle and can range to try and provide something for everyone.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best

Nikki Morris



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 470 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in over Easter weekend with our family. What a fantastic find! Lovely atmosphere, great food and drinks, children well catered for and great service from a young and vibrant team who were happy to be there! So lovely to find a place where you can have a civilized experience with young children in tow (ours are 9 and 6). The only way to imprive this place would be with a sea view! We'll be back in the summer

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerringboneNB, General Manager at Herringbone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We aim to cater for all at Herringbone including the kids, glad to hear you all enjoyed.

Always lovely to hear such kind comments from our team, they are all excellent people who work very hard.

Thanks again

Nikki Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Herringbone is a nice space for a relaxed breakfast and I was excited to try their vegetarian breakfast, which included spinach and halloumi. Admittedly we were quite a large party but service was very slow - we waited more than half an hour for our food. When it arrived it was heavily over-seasoned - the saltiest halloumi I've ever had, and the spinach was barely edible.

Thank eapst222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerringboneNB, General Manager at Herringbone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi eapst222

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all.

I am very disappointed to hear your breakfast was not to your liking and service was slow. We usually have such great feedback on our breakfast dishes.

I would like to look into this further with our kitchen team, if you would be so kind as to contact me directly on the below email that would be great thanks.

Thanks again

Nikki Morris
nikki@theherringbone.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant good value family dinner. Food is well cooked and they have a good range of choices to please most tastes. It was very busy in front section but as it was Saturday it should be expected and it was nice to see it doing well, even if a little noisy to chat over meal. Our waitress was polite and helpful and the staff were working hard in the crowds. One thing I like is that they are noticing that those who don’t/can’t drink might want more than a coke, so thank you for having a wider section of non alcoholic drinks. (I don’t mind paying just make sure they are interesting). So would definitely recommend this asset to NB

Thank Ret40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerringboneNB, General Manager at Herringbone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ret40

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments on our team and food.

We have quite a range of non alcoholic drinks on offer from bottled juice to hand crafted mocktails, Apologies if this was not made aware to you. Hopefully you can try one soon.

Thanks again

Nikki Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in for an evening meal while away for a few days. Herringbone is definitely one of the best looking establishments in North Berwick with a more modern menu and cocktails.
The staff were welcoming and friendly. We had some nice cocktails while looking over the menu which read well. The starters we ordered were fine but the main course was very dry especially for braised meat it was fine for a few bites but I couldn't finish my meal.
It was a nice place with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. A nice place to go for a drink but was not overly impressed with the food.

Thank xangeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerringboneNB, General Manager at Herringbone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments regarding our team and décor. Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate it all. I am very sorry to hear that your meals were not to your liking, we usually receive such good feedback on our dishes. We would like to look into this further, if you wouldn’t mind could you please contact myself on the below email to let us know when you dinned us with so we can speak with the kitchen team.

Thank you again

Nikki Morris
nikki@theherringbone.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herringbone also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Herringbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing