We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most satisfactory for a family group of 11”

The Victoria Inn Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$46
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, the Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham estate. There are ten elegant bedrooms, the bar and dining rooms offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. The “Vic” serves delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800’s when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. The Victoria re-opened in Spring 2013 following extensive refurbishment.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Apart from the fact it was a little too warm in the restaurant, the Victoria Inn was most satisfactory for our family visit. From 6 months to seventy plus, and all the dietary quirks that we have, we were all catered for with admirable ease by the attentive staff. Our table booked for an early lunch meant that our food and drinks came quickly which kept the children happy thus keeping the parents happy. All in all a great place to have lunch. The Guinness isn’t too bad either!

Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at The Victoria Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks very much for your review, so pleased that we could cater for you all so wonderfully. Hope to see you all again, we'll keep the Guinness cold for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

A lovely restaurant with attentive staff and beautifully produced food. Good for gluten free people like me but please investigate some better gluten free bread( try Schar at any supermarket!)

Thank judithbyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at The Victoria Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Judith,

Many thanks for your review and feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We will pass on your recommendation to the manager. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We called in here for lunch on a cold Sunday in February after walking on Holkham beach with the dog. We hadn't booked but they could not have been more accommodating and even let us eat in the main restaurant. This room is beautifully decorated and felt quite grand with lots of original features and a jolly, lively atmosphere. We had the local Galloway beef from their estate which was superb and lots of delicious sides. Good quality ingredients prepared with care.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSLTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne L, Marketing Assistant at The Victoria Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear that you were so well looked after by the team at The Victoria and that you enjoyed the decor and atmosphere. Did you know, there are a few pieces of original antique furniture in The Victoria from Holkham Hall. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Had lunch here on Friday and had the most delicious Ploughman's lunch. Warm game pie with incredible pastry!!

Thank BonkersAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolkhamMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review and the great comments too. Really pleased to hear our Ploughman's went down a treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We went three times during our week in Norfolk, so perhaps that's the best accolade (and took some friends on one occasion). Very dog friendly, staff friendly too. What's better than after a "bracing" January walk on the beach than to come to this warm place (with muddy boots and dogs) and enjoy food, coffee, great wine (recommend the current Shiraz), with no pressure from staff to "get moving"?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne L, other at The Victoria Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review The Victoria Inn Restaurant. There is no better compliment than a return visit - so, thank you for that. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria Inn Restaurant also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to The Victoria Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing