We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place in Tempe Near the University”

La Bocca Urban Pizzaria
Ranked #22 of 892 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 12 October 2018

New favorite place in Tempe. Cannot comment on the other locations. Got in late the night before for business at the university. Went to La Bocca after walking past it multiple times and looking at the menu. Ratings were great, so we stopped in and Michael, our server, was awesome. Ordered the house red Zin, water, and both the antipasti plate and the caprese salad as we finished our deliberations. Perfect combination!!!!! The prosciutto wrapped goat cheese/tomato piece of the plate was awesome!! Presentation and taste were awesome. Everything was great; we sincerely appreciated the attention to detail by all. La Bocca is a return visit for sure. Thank you Michael!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018

We had a very nice lunch at this restaurant, had not been here for years. I had the homemade ginger coleslaw and the pesto, mozzarella sandwich........just the right ingredients, left very full. Only problem was the ticket for parking validation did not work....

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O2046HElindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Me and my colleague ordered pasta and neither of us liked it - and I am absolutely not a fussy type. The pasta was swimming in a cream sauce. Maybe their pizza is good , I really don’t know but I wouldn’t go there again to order pasta at all.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LaMichaela2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

So, we haven't been to this location a long time ago and most recently, we've been to the location at High Street in North Scottsdale.

We know that they make really good thin crust pizza with good flavor and their bruschetta is also pretty good so when friends wanted to meet for dinner, we suggested a half way point between us both, which was Tempe.

The last time we were at this location, it was most likely a weekend night and we were grabbing something quick to eat before a concert or something so it was definitely more vibrant on that night then it was this Sunday night at 6PM when we went. Ok...it not La Bocca's fault that it was a little quiet and uninteresting.

He's what was their fault...the music was still cranking through the overhead speakers as if there were 100 more people in there and it WAS a Saturday night. It was like a club with 12 people in it. We were sitting at a 4 top table and had to talk really loud to hear each other.

Then our waiter Gary wanders over or shuffles or whatever someone of his age does. He brought us water while we waited for our friends to arrive. He awkwardly asked if we wanted anything else after we had just informed him we were waiting for our friends first.

Oh yeah Gary, thanks for putting your fingers/hands around the rim of our water glasses so we felt really good about drinking from them YIKES!

Our friends arrived and Gary shuffled back on over with his chill bouncy walk like the world moved to his pace. Our friends both ordered waters and a beer and we ordered a bottle of wine.

As we sat and talked, our friends got their waters and beer and we waited for our wine. About 10 minutes later, Gary bounced back over to our table to take our food order. When asked about the one thing on the menu that changes, the seasonal salad, Gary started guessing and we had to send him into the kitchen to be sure of what we were getting. He came back and our food order was placed...mind you, we ordered wine about 15 mins ago at this point.

About 10 mins later, Gary bounced on by and asked our friend if he wanted another beer and he said yes and ordered it but didn't seem to even wonder why we still had no wine. Finally, when he came back with our friend's second beer, he said "Oh yeah...they're suppose to be getting me your bottle of wine...I'll go check on that"

THERE WASN'T MORE THAN 12 PEOPLE IN THE RESTAURANT!! What does it take to get a bottle of wine when the staff almost outnumbers the patrons!!??

Finally the bottle of wine arrives and the food shortly after that. As expected, the food didn't disappoint (LUCKILY!!) as that would have been the final straw.

Long story, short...the food was good (salads and pizza) but the service from Gary was the worst!! He was just trying to be this cool college kid with no urgency to his moves and he wasn't trained very well. You would think with so little people in the restaurant, we would have gotten really great service even from Gary.

Probably won't be back to that location EVER!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Easy location! Great food! Perfect for B-days! Make sure to get reservations it can take a while to get seated!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelabarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bocca Urban Pizzaria also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Bocca Urban Pizzaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing