We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
64
13
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
13
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue lagoon horseback rides incredible stay gravel road highlight of our trip ravioli flora and fauna lamb asado stayed longer rooms are comfortable three nights viedma justina fireplace hike civilization
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Helsingfors is a small Estancia bordered by Lake Viedma and associated fjords and beautiful mountains and small glaciers behind. The activities especially the horseback and trek to the Blue Lagoon was the best activity we had during our 5 week trip to Patagonia and South America. On a good weather day the view across the lake and Fitz Roy is none better. There are only 9 rooms which makes for a very cozy environment with a fireplace and relaxing area in the main lodge. The meals are first class. If you go say hello to the great manager Nick and Tobiano my favorite horse.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank trgoben1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Everything about my trip to Helsingfors was amazing, from the staff, service, horseback riding, beautiful surroundings, treking, and of course the food. I'm still dreaming about the roasted lamb done over the open fire for the opening lunch. The staff was professional and accommodating and very personable. It is well worth the long trek to get there. It is a trip I will never forget.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cmartella5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My wife and I visited during a recent trip and have never enjoyed a destination more. Everything was to our liking. Isolated, scenic, active, and informative, Helsingfors provided daily hiking, wonderful trail riding, (we are horse people), and delightful company, both in staff and fellow guests. We loved it. Not "fancy" in a elegant sense, but delightful in being genuine and embracing, Helsingfors is a "must return someday" kind of experience.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

"Secret hideaway" is an excellent description of this charming and beautiful location PAST the end of the road. Helsingfors staff (primarily our Argentinian/Floridian Nick and the jefe Pablo) are as attentive and charming as you could hope for, the grounds are spectacular and the views are awe-inspiring.
We were led on a day hike to "Windy Point" (no misnomer... 60+ MPH!) and took a combination horse ride & hike to Lago Azul through some of teh prettiest real estate in Patagonia... all the while looking at a Fitzroy in the distance and the numerous glaciers and waterfalls. Where else can you see caracara birds wandering about the lawn looking for handouts?
The food was spectacular and the accommodations bright and airy. Helsingfors is another Estancia that is beyond the "end of the road", but the journey is rewarded with a once-in-a-lifetime visit.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robertbruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

What a secret little hideaway located in the Los Glaciares National Park! Top notch service and good will make you feel pampered and spoiled as you should be! Wildlife abounds you out your window and as you walk the grounds with the Lake Viedma, Fitzroy and Andes Mts as your backdrop. Hiking in the area is incredible but be ready when you head out to Windy Pt as it deserves its name! Horses are available for rent if you want to shorten your hike to the Blue Lagoon Glacier area. The entire time we were there we never encountered another hiker besides our group!
The food is incredible with everything being made on site that possibly can be from all the breads & pastries, yogurts, etc to soups and entrees that are exquisite. Rooms have everything you need but not necessarily spacious depending which room you get. Wifi is iffy but you don't go to Patagonia for the wifi!!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank pglejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews