We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lagos Del Calafate(El Calafate)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rochester Hotel Calafate(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aikendor hotel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
America del Sur Hostel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Complejo Don Pepe(El Calafate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
61
13
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
13
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue lagoonhorse ridewindy pointgravel roadraviolibeautiful mountainsbreads pastrieshighlight of our tripday hikeits charmlambfitz royasadolos glaciares national parkthree nightsviedmahorseback
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My wife and I visited during a recent trip and have never enjoyed a destination more. Everything was to our liking. Isolated, scenic, active, and informative, Helsingfors provided daily hiking, wonderful trail riding, (we are horse people), and delightful company, both in staff and fellow guests. We loved it. Not "fancy" in a elegant sense, but delightful in being genuine and embracing, Helsingfors is a "must return someday" kind of experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

"Secret hideaway" is an excellent description of this charming and beautiful location PAST the end of the road. Helsingfors staff (primarily our Argentinian/Floridian Nick and the jefe Pablo) are as attentive and charming as you could hope for, the grounds are spectacular and the views are awe-inspiring.
We were led on a day hike to "Windy Point" (no misnomer... 60+ MPH!) and took a combination horse ride & hike to Lago Azul through some of teh prettiest real estate in Patagonia... all the while looking at a Fitzroy in the distance and the numerous glaciers and waterfalls. Where else can you see caracara birds wandering about the lawn looking for handouts?
The food was spectacular and the accommodations bright and airy. Helsingfors is another Estancia that is beyond the "end of the road", but the journey is rewarded with a once-in-a-lifetime visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robertbruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

What a secret little hideaway located in the Los Glaciares National Park! Top notch service and good will make you feel pampered and spoiled as you should be! Wildlife abounds you out your window and as you walk the grounds with the Lake Viedma, Fitzroy and Andes Mts as your backdrop. Hiking in the area is incredible but be ready when you head out to Windy Pt as it deserves its name! Horses are available for rent if you want to shorten your hike to the Blue Lagoon Glacier area. The entire time we were there we never encountered another hiker besides our group!
The food is incredible with everything being made on site that possibly can be from all the breads & pastries, yogurts, etc to soups and entrees that are exquisite. Rooms have everything you need but not necessarily spacious depending which room you get. Wifi is iffy but you don't go to Patagonia for the wifi!!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank pglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

If you want beautiful views, superior food, super staff, great attention to detail - then this is your place. The main host, Nick, was as good as it gets, always there to attend to your every need without being pushy. If you asked for anything then he made it happen. Natalia, the guide, was very personable and fun to be around. The chef was just outstanding - varied meals all with super taste and way too much food. Fresh baked bread every morning along with more than you could ask for on display.
The Gaucho, Evarista (sp?) was great with setting up the horseback riding trips and very willing to do just want you wanted on each trek. You could gallop if you wanted to or get off your horse to take pictures and just go at whatever pace you wanted - a fun guy to be around. Most everyone spoke English and the staff that didn't wasn't much of a problem since it wasn't that hard to communicate. There was only one drawback, however that is also a plus - the ride in from Rt. 40 was 44 miles on a dirt road. The good part was that you won't see anyone around and that was just the way I liked it - no tourism trap here. I highly recommend this Estancia.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
Thank LDSNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2016

A pleasant stopover to shake the dust off, relax, and refresh on our driving trip down the Andes. Cozy accommodations and common areas, excellent meals, top notch hospitality. Highly recommended, particularly for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews