We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lagos Del Calafate(El Calafate)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rochester Hotel Calafate(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aikendor hotel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amigo del Mundo Hosteria y Apart Hotel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apart Chalten(El Calafate)
US$100
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
America del Sur Hostel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Complejo Don Pepe(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apart Haiken(El Calafate)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
43
37
12
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
37
12
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdulce de lechethe main streettidytourscerealargentina
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

I am not one to typically write a review (I think this is my second time ever) but staying at Avutardas was such a wonderful experience and the staff was so lovely I hope a nice review is some compensation for all their help.

First the facility is really nice. The rooms are small/medium sized but you don't feel cramped at all. The showers are super lovely, with great showerheads that are essential after a long days trip to Perrito Morreno. The rooms are quiet and all on the second floor, away from any common (and street) areas noise. The hotel is right downtown in walking distance to all the restaurants including Pura Vida a favorite of ours.

But more than this the staff is exceptional. They booked all of our tours and bus rides at the best rates possible, making it as convenient as possible for us. We also mentioned we had planned to travel to Bariloche after by bus (my mistake) and they advised us that flying was faster (not surprising) but also cheaper (really surprising.) They even booked our flights for us when the Aerolineas store was closed and we had trouble navigating the companies website from Argentina (way more difficult than expected.)

Honestly the staff was some of the best people we met on our long trip. People you want to be friends with for the rest of your life after only a few days. Those people. I hope to return soon.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Danny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at las Avutardas and it was a great decision. The staffwas very helpful and helped us tailor our trip in Patagonia and gave us very useful recommendations on places to visit and how to get their. We were able to book many of our tours directly in the lobby and pick ups were arranged at the hosteria itself which was very convenient. If you are going to El Calafate, do not hesitate to go here, you will get great value for money and the staff is very helpful and hospitable. The breakfast is good too and ready from 6AM.

Many thanks to the staff!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Yashiv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Cannot say enough about this place. Very clean, quite (we didn't stay streetside so not sure about those rooms-but it is on the Main Street!) The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Spoke English and were always willing to accommodate you... The rooms were spacious and clean. Great music and the location is perfect.
Pricing is very affordable for what you get!
Highly recommend the place!
Thanks guys!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank TravelingLight24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Avutardas H, Recepción at Las Avutardas Hosteria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Many Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We were staying here for 4 nights with a large family (4 rooms), so we got to see a lot of the hotel for a long time. It is a small hotel on the edge of town with easy walking access to restaurants and bus terminal. We didn't have a car, but this was very convenient for us. It is clean and pretty comfortable. We had two apartments and there were some maintinence issues (broken toilet, for instance). I think the rooms in the main hotel have been updated and have larger beds, more comfortable, etc. It can be noisy on the street. We enjoyed being able to use the small kitchen and refrigerator in the apartment. There was a lovely table outside in a courtyard. Breakfast was really just a continental breakfast--pretty typical for Argentina. The best thing was the people who were very friendly, kind, helpful and really went out of their way to provide service and make our stay in El Calafate pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel are nicer, but closer to the noisy street.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Hostel is in a good location, walking distance to lots of restaurants and cafes. Staff were accommodating. Room was clean and comfortable, but we didn't get soup and shampoo every day and we was were for four nights

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank bora_bora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews