We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch”
Review of Die Plaaskombuis

Die Plaaskombuis
Ranked #62 of 122 Restaurants in Hermanus
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family friendly Restaurant and Farmstall situated in the beautiful Hemel-en-Aarde Valley. We are well known for our Traditional Meals and Friendly Staff.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Terrible, absolutely terrible!! Great ambience .. loads of potential, but the food is made by someone who has no idea or tastebuds, to start off its really over priced which will okay if the food was at all on standard. But its bad. Really bad. A corner cafe would be a better option, its seriously the worst food ever! even the tea tasted terrible. So disappointed and frustrated that a nice meal out leaves you feeling a bit sick.
Had the club sandwich.. no care or love.. overcooked blue egg.. oily bacon, and the most bland chicken mayo ever, suppose to have avo and peppadew but thats not on there .. a week old chicken with the cheapest nasties mayo you can find and bread falling apart. The tomato is the edges and skin only.. the cheese, again the cheapest tasteless cheese they can find. Want to charge top prices R105 for a sandwich then at least give me something decent ...

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank S6362WTsarahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2020

Such great food at reasonable prices. Very friendly service. The nobodies is great as is the bunny chow. We will certainly be back for the good food and lovely view.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank terria3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Every thing was nice and good.....until I look at the menu to my horror the burger doesnt come with gherkins,if you want these groovy fermented cucumbers in thier rightful place you will need to add ten bucks(10 ZARs)extra to get them there.

This to me is blasphemous in the burger fraternity.They are as important as the bun or the patty.

Please I implore the power that be at the plaas kombuis. Give me some free gherkins.it really cannot harm your food cost.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank DeanSOAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2020

This is a little roadside shop/deli/restaurant. There are some very interesting country "things" for sale and it may be worth a stop for this. There is a little restaurant attached to this, and if you are hungry, the food is OK, but it is certainly not fantastic. The pies have very thick crusts, which were crispy on the outside, but quite soggy on the inside because they were so thick. The fillings were OK, but there was not much of it. The plougmans/cheese platter was positively poor!

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank JDDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

Poor service ruined what could have been a good meal. Trying to find a waitron to take an order should have rang warning bells. Manageress intervened and told us we had an allocated waitress. Waitress dodged us very well. Even drinks took ages. Question why did we stay?

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Q8480VVkevinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Plaaskombuis also viewed

 
Hermanus, Overstrand
 

Been to Die Plaaskombuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.