We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$159
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Cape Town Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$56
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/22
US$600
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveler rating
967
509
148
31
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
509
148
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomoysterstable mountainpiazza facingseals playingperfect locationa mountain view roomferris wheelsister hoteltravel deskwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The most perfect location, helpful and friendly staff, nice spacious room and free parking. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and I would stay there again if I went back to Cape Town. Also liked the Charlotte Rhys toiletries.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback on the V&A Hotel, also on the friendliness of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This was our first trip to South Africa and prior to our visit we started seeing a lot of news on the Cape Town water crisis. We were unsure how this would effect our visit but our dates could be not changed. Our travel coordinator sent us a letter assuring us that current crisis would have a minimum impact on our visit. The hotel is located in a great location in the city with easy access to everything. We were greeted by the friendly staff when we arrived and shown to our room. Our room was lovely. It was very large with a nice view of the harbor and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us since it was my birthday. In fact, our valet even sang me happy birthday while escorting us to our room. Our room came with complementary breakfast. There are plenty of options to choose from. There is a large buffet and several hot options to order that were all included. Our waitress Babs was wonderful. She greeted us daily, she remembered where we liked to sit, what we liked to drink and eat. She was very tentative and prompt. She always started our day off on a positive note. The hotel is making several efforts to help conserve water during the water crisis. In the hotel bathrooms there is no soap available only hand sanitizer. In our room, the bathtub didn't have a plug so guests can't not take baths. The hotel also provided guests with information regarding the water crisis and how to best minimize water usage. This had a very minimum impact on our visit and anyone who is considering changing their travel plans due to this issue shouldn't.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cskeenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback about the V&A Hotel and our team, who we are also very proud of. Also for recognising our efforts to tackle the severity of the drought situation in our city without impacting on the overall guest experience. Please do come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

What a great hotel, not pretentious, well appointed, the BEST location, incredibly helpful, friendly and profeesional staff - it is the complete package. Beautiful views of the harbour and Table Mountain, an impressive breakfast buffet and so close to the Waterfront shops and restaurants. I really like the attention to detail - a separate toilet for one. the Charlotte Rees amenities are sublime. There is a lot of competition for accommodation in Cape Town, the Victoria and Alfred is way ahead of the pack!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing the V&A Hotel with such positive feedback and please return in the not too distant future to enjoy another sumptuous breakfast overlooking the working harbour with our wonderful views of Table Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We were staying in nearby apartments but thoroughly enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast sitting by the waterside. Also made use of the coffee and cakes bar a couple of times.

The breakfast was reasonably priced with lots of choice and the staff efficient and pleasant.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing your positive experiences after visiting the V&A Hotel for breakfast and also enjoying our fresh coffee and pastry offering in Native Espresso Bar, both coupled with our uninterrupted views of Table Mountain. We are proud of our team and hope to see you return sometime in the not too distant future when it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Great hotel right in the heart of the waterfront. Would strongly recommend staying here. It is right near a number of major attractions. The stop for the city sightseeing bus is right next door and there and a number of good restaurants a stones throw away so it is perfect for in the evenings. The hot and cold breakfast selection is also great. You can have it sitting outside with an amazing view of table mountain.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank T10Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the V&A Hotel with such positive feedback and please return in the not too distant future to enjoy our sumptuous breakfast offering and other meals with wonderful views of Table Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews