We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$191
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$150
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$191
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$763
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$431
US$383
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$162
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$330
US$302
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveler rating
945
502
145
30
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
945
502
145
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomoysterstable mountaingreat locationpiazza facingseals playinga mountain view roomferris wheeltravel desksister hotelwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastsparkling wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The most perfect location, helpful and friendly staff, nice spacious room and free parking. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and I would stay there again if I went back to Cape Town. Also liked the Charlotte Rhys toiletries.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback on the V&A Hotel, also on the friendliness of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first trip to South Africa and prior to our visit we started seeing a lot of news on the Cape Town water crisis. We were unsure how this would effect our visit but our dates could be not changed. Our travel coordinator sent us a letter assuring us that current crisis would have a minimum impact on our visit. The hotel is located in a great location in the city with easy access to everything. We were greeted by the friendly staff when we arrived and shown to our room. Our room was lovely. It was very large with a nice view of the harbor and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us since it was my birthday. In fact, our valet even sang me happy birthday while escorting us to our room. Our room came with complementary breakfast. There are plenty of options to choose from. There is a large buffet and several hot options to order that were all included. Our waitress Babs was wonderful. She greeted us daily, she remembered where we liked to sit, what we liked to drink and eat. She was very tentative and prompt. She always started our day off on a positive note. The hotel is making several efforts to help conserve water during the water crisis. In the hotel bathrooms there is no soap available only hand sanitizer. In our room, the bathtub didn't have a plug so guests can't not take baths. The hotel also provided guests with information regarding the water crisis and how to best minimize water usage. This had a very minimum impact on our visit and anyone who is considering changing their travel plans due to this issue shouldn't.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cskeenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback about the V&A Hotel and our team, who we are also very proud of. Also for recognising our efforts to tackle the severity of the drought situation in our city without impacting on the overall guest experience. Please do come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great hotel, not pretentious, well appointed, the BEST location, incredibly helpful, friendly and profeesional staff - it is the complete package. Beautiful views of the harbour and Table Mountain, an impressive breakfast buffet and so close to the Waterfront shops and restaurants. I really like the attention to detail - a separate toilet for one. the Charlotte Rees amenities are sublime. There is a lot of competition for accommodation in Cape Town, the Victoria and Alfred is way ahead of the pack!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing the V&A Hotel with such positive feedback and please return in the not too distant future to enjoy another sumptuous breakfast overlooking the working harbour with our wonderful views of Table Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in nearby apartments but thoroughly enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast sitting by the waterside. Also made use of the coffee and cakes bar a couple of times.

The breakfast was reasonably priced with lots of choice and the staff efficient and pleasant.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing your positive experiences after visiting the V&A Hotel for breakfast and also enjoying our fresh coffee and pastry offering in Native Espresso Bar, both coupled with our uninterrupted views of Table Mountain. We are proud of our team and hope to see you return sometime in the not too distant future when it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel right in the heart of the waterfront. Would strongly recommend staying here. It is right near a number of major attractions. The stop for the city sightseeing bus is right next door and there and a number of good restaurants a stones throw away so it is perfect for in the evenings. The hot and cold breakfast selection is also great. You can have it sitting outside with an amazing view of table mountain.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank T10Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Nold, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the V&A Hotel with such positive feedback and please return in the not too distant future to enjoy our sumptuous breakfast offering and other meals with wonderful views of Table Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews