We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parkers Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
US$93
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$118
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
151
24
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
24
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housethe ownerair conditioning and fanssouth africabedroom cottageshort walk to the main streetfridge and tea coffee facilitieshelpful with tipslaundry donefor making our holidayideal for familiesegg sandwichhuge bathroomlocated within walking distancebooking tripsbreakfast was deliciousspent a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Parkers cottages are not cottages and their standard room is substandard
We booked direct via their website which is totally misleading.We were looking for a spacious cottage .What we were offered was a cottage with no kitchen and a living room dominated by a double bed.
We understood the first night would be in their guest house standard room,it was a small dark room with just a bed,no wardrobe,no chair nothing else and charged over R1000 a night
In 15 years of travelling in South Africa this is easily the worst place we have ever seen
We did not stay as it was so disgusting and the rather sour manager and subsequently the owner refused a refund,we had paid 50% for 6 days in advance
When is a cottage not a cottage ?
When it is a Parkers cottage

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mel

When you first made the booking, it was explained to you that the first night would be unavailable in the two bedroom and two bathroom cottage (meaning that it is a self standing unit separate from the main house) and that you would be in a smaller double en suite room in the main house. It is not the standard room as it is substantially smaller than all the other rooms and is without a fridge. We are a bed and breakfast establishment and at no point was anything mentioned about a kitchen. All of the amenities of the rooms were clearly stated both on the website and on the invoice.

As such, this was explained to you prior to your arrival and a discount was offered to compensate for this. This was received by you to be agreeable and everything was confirmed.

Upon arrival you were not happy about the smaller room (we agree it is not ideal but you were fully aware of the smaller room and were compensated financially for which you were happy to accept at the time).
You also decided that the cottage was not suitable for you even though it had a family of 5 Swedes (all adults) who were perfectly comfortable and happy on the night of your arrival. They even wrote a review (in Swedish) on this very site to attest to this!!

I find it impossible to understand how 2 persons feel that they don't have enough space when 5 persons feel that they do.

It states clearly on the website and on the invoice sent to you that we offer bed and breakfast and the amenities in the room are listed. it is unclear how you could assume there were kitchens available in the rooms.

We cannot be held responsible for your change of mind at the last minute, there was absolutely nothing wrong with any of the rooms and as a show of good faith to you you were offered 70% refund which you refused, while threatening bad reviews like this very one.

Furthermore, we find it grossly unfair that you can write a review of something you didn't experience, choosing instead to move to another bed and breakfast establishment of similar calibre, while publicly slating us.

Kind regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Very cute and modest little cottage. Comfortable bed, updated bathroom, and really sweet staff. Nice continental breakfast, nothing fancy but has all the standard items. Staff was beyond accomodating and attentive, and they had cute little dogs. We also got to see wild hippo grazing outside which was definitely a highlight!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

Fishermans Cottage:

Neat, modern, spacious. Looks very “new”.

Well Cooled with air conditioning and fans.
Very good breakfast, also variation everyday.

Gwen is very friendly and helpful. She really looks well after het guests!

Very comfortable stay, safe parking inside.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank natashasV584QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We have made a couple of changes down in the cottages so glad they are to your liking.
Gratitude should go to Bonita - who has taken over from me now.
Thanks a lot for your feedback.

Kind regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We stayed at Parker's cottage for 5 nights. Bonita made us feel welcome from the first till the last day. We stayed at Nguni cottage, a two bedroom cottage, which can accommodate up to 4 people. The main bedroom is huge, the cottage is lovely furnished and very clean. Breakfast is very good and various every day a bit.
We are happy to come back

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Manager at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Hi Sabine and Family,

Thank you for the lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Parkers in St Lucia. Visit us soon again.

Slaine and Shaggy send their regards.

Take Care Bonita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We had a lovely and pleasant stay at Parkers Cottages in St. Lucia. Craig and Slaine superb hospitality made our stay extremely comfortable and nice. The breakfast is excellent and varies every day. Very scenic and tropical location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thanks a lot for your review.
I'll pass on your comments to Slaine!
See you again

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews