We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/21
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$172
Booking.comUS$172
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
142
31
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
142
31
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush walk romantic turndown private picnic breakfast picnic morning walk orpen gate watering hole peace and quiet kruger park plunge pool the reserve devin blessing candles tents boma nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2021

A central lodge surrounded by power and water equipped tented room facilities. The rooms are rustic and that adds to the character! Outstanding staff, great food, and relaxed and friendly facilities. We went for a week and stayed for 10 days! Devin gave us expert guidance around Kruger Park and some of the private reserves, taught us a lot about the animals and their habits, and we got some stunning wildlife photos of the Big 5 and many many more exotic creatures. Best vacation we have ever had, and we will definitely be back!

Room tip: All tents have a private veranda and an additional outside shower
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH13515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

To say Ngama Tented Safari Loge exceeded all our expectations would be an understatement. Every single bit of detail was amazing, amazing, amazing. From the early morning guided bush walk, to the daily surprise visit from the gorgeous giraffe, to the private picnic, private dinner at the Boma; and not forgetting the consistently delectable meals.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShotLeftFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2021

From the entrance, you are greeted by welcoming staff who aim to serve and accommodate your requests.
The food was delicious and menu's were tailored to cater to our dietary requirements.
Upon returning from dinner on our first night we had a surprise turndown waiting in our room, with candles around a filled bathtub and a bottle of campaign. This was just one of the many instances where the staff go above and beyond to make your stay memorable.

We highly recommend that you book the following:
- The guided bush walk, nothing compares to standing next to a Giraffe and appreciating the beauty of nature. Devin was an amazing guide who is well versed in both flora and fauna.
- The private picnic, secluded from the resort, the set up overlooks a beautiful water hole. During our picnic we had a herd of about 10 Zebra's who were grazing next to us.
- The couples massage, pure bliss, and absolutely relaxing. Blessing has patience and skill and will work out all the knocks in your back.
- private dinner, beats any reservation in a crowded restaurant and allows you the time to be alone.

Overall we had an excellent unforgettable experience.

Be prepared to soak in nature and get lost in the beauty of quietness. 

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilindrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin Scott, Owner at Ngama Tented Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Dear Kilindrie, Thank you for the wonderful review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all the little extras arranged for you during your stay.
Thank you for highlighting the way the staff went above and beyond to ensure you had a memorable time at Ngama.

We hope to welcome you back to the peaceful beauty of Ngama Lodge sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2020

I want to start off by saying I did expect more. Maybe my expectations were just too high, but then again it was a fabulous and unforgettable weekend to celebrate both my husband's and my birthdays.

The road signs are perfectly adequate and we didn't struggle to find the place at all. Blessing came out of the lodge to welcome us and we had some refreshing ice tea to enjoy while filling out all the forms for COVID-19.

It was raining on and off and we were supposed to have our private dinner on our little patio the 1st evening at 19:00. We didn't know whether they were still coming to serve us at the tent or if they are going to move the table inside so we waited. At 19:10 we eventually decided to walk up to the main dining area where we were informed that we will be dining there instead. At that stage it was not raining.
Although I can understand that their arrangements were also thrown off by the rain, surely it is not the 1st time that they have experienced such and it would have been nice to have been informed prior to 19:00 about the change of plans. It was a bit of a let-down.

Dinner however was superb and compliments to the chef, definitely! Just be mindful though that the drinks are on the pricey side and the selection is limited. There are for example no non-alcoholic drinks other than cold drinks and coffee or tea.

During Friday evening there were music pumping somewhere in the vicinity and it was definitely detracting from the peace and quiet and the bush sounds. It eventually stopped at 07:00 the Saturday morning.

The bush walk the Saturday morning with Devin was unforgettable! He is a great guide and we tracked the wild dogs that were in the area but we missed them unfortunately. Don't lie in, even if you are tempted because it is really a great experience.

We also had a picnic planned but again I was a bit disappointed. I assumed it would be for lunch (my bad) but was informed after our walk that it was actually a breakfast picnic but that due to the rain it would not be possible. And since they had another couple's picnic planned for lunch, maybe we could do sundowners at the picnic spot. Well we didn't go, mainly because we did not know where the picnic spot was or whether we could still go and do sundowners. I just feel they could have done more - even have it in the tent or something. Not just to leave it. I really looked forward to it and maybe that's why I am a bit upset about it.

The afternoon we had massages and it was perfect. Just mind though that they do not do the massages in a separate tent as advertised but rather have a mobile massage bed which they bring to your own tent and it is done there. And they don't skimp on the time either, if it says 30 minutes you will get your full 30 minute massage.

Dinner was superb! It was set up in the boma area and the food again was super delicious, the atmosphere with all the lamps great and all round 5-star!

The plunge pool is very small. There were 2 people in the pool the Friday afternoon and it would have been awkward to get in the pool with them. And since they were smoking in the pool as well, for us and non-smokers, it was unpleasant.

The tents are beautiful and dreamy! This was everything they said it would be. The linen is good quality, the outside shower a real treat and the bathroom products they provide wonderful (I even bought some of the foam bath) and the food superb! The peace and quiet truly soaked into your soul. And the romantic turndown truly romantic and very special.

None of the things that were bothersome detracted from how special the weekend was and how beautiful it is at Ngama. I would definitely recommend them to anyone that wants to get away from it all to soak in the peace and quiet of nature and to be pampered on the side.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elize44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin Scott, Owner at Ngama Tented Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Dear Elize,

Thank you for taking the time to prepare such a detailed review your stay with us. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your time at Ngama celebrating your special occasions.

The rain did certainly play havoc with our plans during your stay and we deliberated amongst the team on numerous occasions about whether we could attempt the private dinner and the picnic for you. In the end the last minute decision was made that the weather was just not playing its part to allow them to take place. My apologies for the lack of communication regarding the changing of your plans, I will be sure to sit down with the team and discuss how better to relay information to guests when we have to make last minute adjustments to guests itineraries.

We hope that whenever you use the Foam Bath back at home, the beautiful fragrance will transport you back to your time at Ngama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2020

I must say the two things that stood out the most from our stay at Ngama Tented Safari Lodge, is how friendly the staff are and how well organised the lodge is. Very few accommodation places can say they tick all the boxes when it comes to doing the basics right. Food exceeded our expectations and the wildlife that surrounds the lodge is quite a sight to behold.

Definitely would recommend a break away to Ngama Tented Safari Lodge.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wiesdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin Scott, Owner at Ngama Tented Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation.

I am delighted to hear that you were looked after so well by our amazing team at Ngama.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back to Ngama again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews