We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
39
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
39
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini bar intimate camp sundowner drinks small number of guests outdoor shower game drives are fantastic the reserve bush baby unforgettable memories perfect balance river bed out of this world amazing experience heaven on earth safari guide an amazing place other guests
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021

What an amazing weekend filled with fun and laughter for the whole family!Amazing lodging facilities,friendly staff that are always there to assist,the food was absolutely amazing definitely my highlight of the trip,and the thought that went into prepping the mini bar in rooms wow what a lodge you guys do have!
To anyone looking for a getaway this place is THE BEST value for money anyone can ask for!In trying times like we are currently experiencing you guys made the world seem normal again!
Again thanks so much to the management and the staff for making it memorable!See you soon!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Johnathan2316123_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2020

We had read the reviews, but nothing prepares you for the experience. With the serenity of the camp, the family feel with only 7 tents (14 Guests), the great service and food and the awe inspiring scenery and wildlife this has everything you need. We had Paul and Direct for the game drives and on every drive we found something new (including a leopard). Their knowledge is encyclopedic and Direct's eyesight is out of this world. We would stop because he had sen something that it took us concentrating to see, yet he saw it when we were driving along! The drives were so entertaining as we had a good mix of people and the Sundowner G&T went down a treat.
Meals are served as a long table so everyone at the camp can share stories and get to know each other.
We also opted for the picnic and the spot Paul found was perfect, shaded, by the water, with Hippos in the distance for company. You felt like you were alone, but safe in the knowledge that Paul was a radio call away.
As others have said, the "tents" are unlike any tent you will have stayed in. All compforts are there and we had no issues with the Aircon as others have reported.

We are looking at how and when we can return as this is truly an experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Keca66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn d, Guest Relations Manager at Vuyani River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2020

Dear Keca66,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and count ourselves lucky to have customers like you. I will pass on your special thanks to Paul and the team- they are truly remarkable.

We are delighted your trip was an unforgettable experience and hope to see you back at the Tented Camp again soon.

Kind Regards,
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2020 via mobile

Sorry for the delay in writing this but things went a bit mad when we returned then have come to an abrupt halt due to covid.
The experience we had was fantastic.
Firstly the tents aren’t really tents,more like 4* hotel rooms.
At the time of visiting there were 6 tents although they were expecting to increase that too at least 12.
The small number of guests made for a great and cosy experience .
This also meant not to many people on the vehicles during the game drives.
Our driver was Paul and his spotter was Direct,both of whom really knew what they were doing.
With one exception ,Direct didn’t have a clue how to make a proper cup of tea.
Milk with the teabag still in,really!
Just kidding,Direct makes a great cup of tea(after I’d showed him how).
Paul and Direct showed us loads of animals,including 2 sightings of Leopard within a couple of days.
My wife really wanted to see Elephants before we left the camp.
Paul and Direct put us in the middle of a large herd of 20/30 elephants a couple of days before we left.
I’ve added a couple of pics but they are nothing to the real experience .
The food was really great as were all the staff.
This was a really fantastic 7 days that we won’t be forgetting anytime soon.
Hopefully when all this madness ends,we will come back and enjoy another stay at Vuyani.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Antiquesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn d, Guest Relations Manager at Vuyani River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2020

Dear Antiquesrus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Vuyani Tented Camp. We loved hosting you and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am really pleased you were able to experience the great outdoor diversity, having such an intimate experience with a Leopard is a real treat. I will pass on your special thanks to Paul, Direct and the team- they really are well informed and an asset to Vuyani.

We hope to have you back at the camp soonest.

Kind Regards,
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

What can I say,we went with fairly high expectations having read so many glowing reviews,but it far exceeded our wishes.Let me start with the staff,everyone were simply wonderful,helpful and could not do enough for you,our guide direct and Paul were simply the best,their knowledge and enthusiasm and willingness to track and find the animals was second to none,amazing amount of animals spotted,you never lose your enthusiasm for the game drives as you never know what you will see,and the sundowner drinks break in the evening was sublime,as the weather was wonderful when we were there with beautiful clear starry evenings,yes early starts but animals don’t show on request so early mornings and evenings are when they show,if you don’t like getting up early don’t bother going.the ‘tented accomadation’ what an understatement,they are not tents,lovely accommodation,constantly re stocked mini bar,and the outdoor shower is simply heavenly,you may share it with a bush baby watching if you are lucky,breakfast,lunch and dinner are freshly cooked and wonderful,and the boma or barbecue is superb,tried impala one night,there is always a veggie option,pool area is a haven of relaxation,I would recommend going on some trips which are all advertised on their website as you cannot leave the camp,I know there are plans for a gym and introducing walking safaris.I often ask after visiting a place would I go again,and the answer with vuyani is a huge yes,both my wife and I loved every minute,the other couples who were there who we shared our drives,meals and time with and made new friends from other parts of the world.If you get the chance to go and love animals,go you will not regret.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn d, Guest Relations Manager at Vuyani River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2020

Dear Nigel T,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and count ourselves lucky to have customers like you. I will pass on your special thanks to Paul, Direct and the team- they are truly remarkable.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

The place is amazing and the treatment as well, you can feel there is “unique”, there is just 7 Lodges.
The staffs are lovely! Mainly the safari guide(Stewart), the cosine chef and the pool house service.
The private reserve its impressive, you can see the big 4 super close and the guide knows everything about the savanna and the animals, they are very kind in terms of “find” the animals that we are expecting.
The main meals are perfect, but we miss the “coffee break” during the activities, because they are long and exhausted until the dinner and there is just “snacks”.
The worst thing that makes us really uncomfortable it was the air conditioner, it wasn’t working, and the lodges are done by wood, so during 10am until 6pm, it’s impossible stay there. Almost half of the stay, this makes us feel that don’t worth the money! (One day, I was sick, and It was so warm and I needed to sleep at the pool..)
Last, but not least, they are not clear about the $ of the activities, and “how it works” to schedule.
We recommended the place, but ask about the $ and activities before go, because you can also schedule with agencies tour if they say that are not possible(mainly with you are not in a big group, like us).

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank brunauehara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn d, Guest Relations Manager at Vuyani River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2020

Dear Brunauehara,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
I will pass on your feedback to the Management at the Lodge and ensure the maintenance options are explored.

We are delighted your overall trip was an unforgettable experience and hope to see you back at the Tented Camp again soon.

Kind Regards,
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews