We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$670
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$886
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,095
US$827
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
196
25
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
25
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomhighly recommend this place to anyonegreat selection of winesyogurt and granolathe hotel offersbreakfast and dinnermountain bikesset menuhoney moonone nightcourse dinnerhuge bathtubbreakfast was excellentrooms are spaciouswarm towelsout of this worldlocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a gorgeous holiday!!! I went with my boyfriend to spend 2 weeks travelling South Africa for my 30th birthday and Unembeza absolutely compensated any sulking at growing old... ish.
Suzette was fab picking us up at the tiny airport and giving us all the info on her home although we didn't want to leave the lodge so I'm afraid to say we didn't take her up on any of her tips! The food was so amazing at the hotel, we couldn't possibly miss a meal by venturing out. You're spoilt with amazing local wines and food! We did however make the most of the Game drives Suzette booked and we had some incredible sightings!
And then for the rooms, all the mod cons, the bed was devine, the stand alone HUGE bathtub and the outdoor shower were all fab, even having touches like a coffee maker, multi way plugs, great wifi, mood lighting were all a bonus.
Not sure what more we can say but I would go back in a heart beat!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Hells1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unembeza, Manager at Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for all the compliments. We are happy you enjoyed all our facilities, the food, wines and room so much.

Please return !

Best regards,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to have a little bit of luxury,while we acclimatised from uk weather to the heat of South Africa prior to a month in the bush in the nearby Balule Game reserve and it provided an opportunity to visit the Blyde River Canyon.
This lodge delivered everything we could have wished for with a fantastic spacious room and exceptionally friendly service from everyone for our 4 night stay.
We ate in the lodge for 3 of those four nights and really appreciated the thought that went into the fixed 4 course menu. The chef provided items I would probably never have chosen at home to taste and try and although not absolutely perfect the setting and service was wonderful. We are certainly fans of cold soup now!
The lodge provides a summary of activities to you before you arrive and we took advantage of the Panorama tour and the use of the bikes with a guide. In both cases we had a very informative trip. The bikes are also available if not booked to go out by yourselves and for us it was quite surreal cycling by giraffe and zebras.
Will be recommending this lodge to all our friends.

Thank you

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unembeza, Manager at Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for the compliments and staying with us.

It was a pleasure hosting you.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got lost in Hoedspruit and the hotel sent someone to find us - way beyond what you would expect. We finally arrived in time for dinner, which was served on a candle lit terrace surrounded by the bush. Quite magical! And a delicious four course dinner. Our room was a thatched rondevol with a view over a lovely garden. The staff were so friendly and welcoming that you felt you were among old friends

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank retiredprof020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unembeza, Manager at Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure directing you to our lodge. We are very happy you enjoyed the hospitality, our food and your room.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Best regards,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Food is incredible; dinner was such an amazing experience! So worth it! Service is the best part! Staff is very friendly and is always available to make sure you have the best experience. Being at Unembeza feels like you are so close to nature, but still in a confortable 5 star property. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laertevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unembeza, Manager at Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the compliments for our food, staff and location.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

We stayed in Unembeza for three nights in the luxe Eco Tuinsuite. A spacious, modern beautiful room with thatched roof, a very spacious bathroom with inside and outside shower. Delicious breakfast and dinner and very friendly people. Lodge is nearby the Panorama route.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aterps338450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unembeza, Manager at Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We are happy you enjoyed our 65m2 flagship rooms.

We hope to welcome you back.

On behalf of the Unembeza team,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews