We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but enjoyable ”

Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
Ranked #10 of 252 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg is proud to be located on the iconic Nelson Mandela Square. The Cafe features dining on the square, seating over 90 people on the Hard Rock terrace. The marble bar takes prominence at the Cafe, as customers are able to enjoy views of the square and the stage, which features a floating constellation of nearly 7000 drumsticks and a back bar wrapped in LED screens all built around showcasing a drum set. The Cafe seats over 200 people and features aged leather American diner-style banquette seating. The iconic Hard Rock merchandise is available for purchase at the Rock Shop inside the Cafe.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The music is loud, but that's what you'd expect. The food is good and the waiters friendly and helpful. The entertainment is always good and there is a variety of acts performing throughout the month.

Thank Mr_Thestral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Mr_Thestral,
Thank you for your 4* review! We are so glad to hear that the servers took care of you well and that you enjoy our entertainment offering. We do try to create a great and fun atmosphere at the cafe, but next time when you visit if the music is too loud again one of our management team will gladly adjust the volume level for you or relocate you to a part of the cafe that you feel more comfortable in. Thank you for your support and we look forward to rocking with you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent place to hang out in the evening for a drink.
Can have bitings and full meals.
The decor is 5 star.
The staff is 5 .
You meet all tourists from different countries.
Subhash

Thank subhash316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Subhash, thank you for your awesome review! We are so glad to hear that you had a good time with us and that you found the location to be of a high standard. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There was a bloke who me an my guy used to know in Dubai ... he returned home to South Africa and we met him at this venue. My partner is South African and i am British so I am very weary of my things....thankfully the bartenders in the pace trusted us enough to move the bill outside... which is abnormal from what I have experienced... amazing company and amazing drinks plus the amazing atmosphere even thought in was raining cats and dogs there, it felt felt like an afternoon in the Caribbean

Thank Karyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Karyn D, thank you for your 5* review! We are so pleased that you found the cafe to be of a standard that you enjoyed and that you found the atmosphere and the drinks to be amazing! We try to deliver Amplified Service and we are so glad that we were able to do so for you. We look forward to rocking with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Juicy burgers, cripsy fries and a huge menu of dishes that made me gasp! It is a little bit pricy (around 100€ for 2 people, with cocktails and dessert) but for sure amazing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alèxandros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day Alexandros S, thank you for your 4* review! We are so pleased that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed your burger offering :) We try to deliver quality products and large portion sizes. We look forward to rocking with you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for a quick meeting with a business consultant and really not impressed with the service or quality of food for what u get it's a disgrace to pay top dollar for a small piece of steak and say it's a premium cut of meat.Service without a smile and takes forever to get a drink come on do your work or ship out.

Thank Jethro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day Jethro C, thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We will be sending you a DM to further understand your visit with us. We want to deliver a great experience with us at the cafe and we failed to do so for you. We have informed the management team of your concerns and we are looking at the best way to address this. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we do hope that you give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing