We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”

Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
Ranked #12 of 466 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg is proud to be located on the iconic Nelson Mandela Square. The Cafe features dining on the square, seating over 90 people on the Hard Rock terrace. The marble bar takes prominence at the Cafe, as customers are able to enjoy views of the square and the stage, which features a floating constellation of nearly 7000 drumsticks and a back bar wrapped in LED screens all built around showcasing a drum set. The Cafe seats over 200 people and features aged leather American diner-style banquette seating. The iconic Hard Rock merchandise is available for purchase at the Rock Shop inside the Cafe.
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I went with family in need of a quick meal. We had a great time, service was spot on. Food was delicious, highly recommend the ribs - very tasty!

Thank TW987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockJoburg, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi TW,

Thank you for your 4* review. We're glad you & your family had a great time with us at our establishment. We look forward to many more visits from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Amazing experience, BEAUTIFUL restaurant with all the relics from the musical world. The food is perfect, I recommend the double tradicional burger.... unforgetable!

Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockJoburg, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Lucas,

Thank you for your 5* review. We're glad you had a great time with us at our establishment. We look forward to many more visits from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

After trying a couple of restaurants (or similares) around the globe, my experience here was very good and acceptable.

Menu is okay, service is okay, environment is valued and impressive for those who like rock (my opinion this is the winning factor / competition factor for them).

Not all about food, but how you fell embraced on the environment!

You should try.

Thank CORTE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockJoburg, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Corte,

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you had a good time while visiting our cafe. I will pass on your kind words to my team. We look forward to rocking with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

The food is great atmosphere good very vibrant place but!!!' The place is very big and the staff are not doing their job
I think it's because there are not enough staff for the size of the Restorant
The service is good-once you can hold on a waiter

Thank Shlbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockJoburg, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Shlbre,

Thanks for your 4* review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our cafe and the vibe. This matter regarding our servers will be addressed with the correct management involved to ensure this does not happen again. We hope that you understand and will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome decor. Feels unique and authentic. Really worth the visit. Great food delicious and well presented. Kids mac n cheese not great but kids were tired. Not a great kids venue but worth the novelty visit. The kids loved it for a while toll the loud music became overwhelming.

Thank Juliemoon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockJoburg, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your feedback. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our cafe and the food. We apologize for the loud music. We will look into this matter.
We look forward to rocking with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing