We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian restaurant!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gema Deli & Italiano Restaurant
Ranked #316 of 1,495 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Description: Italian food is more than just pizza and spaghetti. There is a wide range of ingredients, flavors, and dishes to experiment with in our restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Italian food is more than just pizza and spaghetti. There is a wide range of ingredients, flavors, and dishes to experiment with in our restaurant.
Reviewed 5 March 2021

From 1998 to 2017 I was in South Africa for business and pleasure 5-6 times a year and during those visits I regularly went to eat in this very good Italian restaurant. The owners are very friendly and hospitable people. You feel like you are in Italy. The food is excellent. Especially rabbit and as desert Tiramisou. Mario even prepared sea bass in the salt for me once. Delicious !!

Date of visit: April 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samentuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2019

We have been coming to Gema for more than seven years and have consistently enjoyed great meals. The meals are reasonably priced and the daily specials are displayed on a board.
The food is genuinely Italian and the menu small but adequate for a great evening meal.
The seafood pasta is a regular favourite and my wife swears by the pizza.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

We went to Gema expecting an authentic experience. While the restaurant is run by an Italian couple, the food was totally disappointing. I would say the low prices are reflective of the food. So if you're looking for quality and delicious Italian food I would avoid. The also say they make their own ice cream but the ice cream we had was not gelato. It tasted store bought. We won't be back.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank jansE8226NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

We had a family lunch at this quaint and family run Italian Restaurant in Kensington .
The venue is small and cozy but a table for 14 was booked and easily made up to our satisfaction .
We had a superb pizza and pasta lunch with really authentic thin crust pizza and excellent tasty and delicious pasta .
The specials board listed so many items to choose from !
Service was good and we had a great time eating and chatting .

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 392asheshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2019

If you've never eaten authentic Italian food that is simply delicious, simple and down to earth, I'd suggest you try Gema's. Dad does the cooking (he's quite old, mom helps out) Restaurant small and down to earth in a house. No bells and whistles. Delicious to say the least.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suetyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gema Deli & Italiano Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gema Deli & Italiano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.