We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry we're full, again.”

SUKI Sushi & Asian Cuisine
Ranked #59 of 368 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have now visited Suki twice late afternoon. On both occasions we were told by the manager, sorry we are full. I pointed out that the restaurant was empty but she was adamant that the were fully booked from 5pm but she could seat us on the verandah. Our time of arrival was 4.30pm and we left at 6pm. At that stage the restaurant was still empty. (See photos) Unfortunately the manager of this restaurant does not understand that turning tables pays her salary.
The food however was good and the service not bad once our order was placed. We had sushi, honey glazed chicken and a red curry that could do with more meat in it. Otherwise a pleasant meal.

1  Thank Leon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonl905, Owner at SUKI Sushi & Asian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day Leon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your overall dining experience. We value constructive criticism.

We would like to start off with an apology regarding the issue of being fully booked and the manner in which the hostess relayed this information to you. We make it a top priority to accommodate every customer that walks through our doors to the best of our abilities.
The hostess is new and still is training, this was her first week alone manning the door and we will address this gap in training whilst moving forward. To ensure our customers with previously booked tables arrive with their tables ready, we accommodate walk in customers at our latest booked table, allowing 1.5 hours between bookings, and inform the customers of this. If we are unable to provide a table, we suggest a seat at the sushi bar. Again, this table booking issue will be looked at.

With regards to your main meals, every dish is portioned and prepared fresh to order. Although a protein option is available, the curry holds focus on the vegetable produce, spice as well as the protein option. We will look into our portion sizing and evaluate whether a change needs to be made.

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is one of the standard of enjoyment we expect for our customers. We thank you for your patronage and apologise again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great disappointment when ordering the Teriyaki Spare Ribs for three of our diners.
We were expecting succulent pieces of spare rib meat and was served a plate full of small pork rib bones. The Teriyaki sauce was good though. This was the second and last disappointing visit to Suki - the first having been served frozen mixed vegetables instead of stir-fried veggies ordered as a side dish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank genevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonl905, Owner at SUKI Sushi & Asian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day Genevina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your dining experience.

In line with our Asian cuisine inspired menu, we prepare our ribs in the same manner in which this dish is prepared in most Asian countries. Our ribs are cut to a smaller size, making them easier to consume at the table. Unlike most restaurants locally, our ribs are not grilled, nor slow cooked, our ribs are deep fried. The meat remains tender however it does not fall off the bone. We will consider cutting our ribs into larger sizes ensuring more meat on the plate. This will hopefully ensure a better dining experience when selecting our Teriyaki pork ribs.

We believe strongly in supporting local business as well as showcasing local fresh produce, for this reason, we receive fresh produce deliveries daily. Our local suppliers are strict on product quality and deliver only the freshest produce. We do not use frozen vegetables.

We do hope your next visit will be an experience of the standard we have set and expect for our customers enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Well the kids wanted to go and we went on a Sat evening. The restaurant was Very busy. This is just personal opinion but, the blue lighting inside the restaurant hurts a person eyes. The food was average.The Kids had prawns and dim sum We had sushi. Kids had the deep fried ice cream which was a hit. We then paid the bill and filled in the questionnaire. All of a sudden we were approached by the waitress and another person and sort of interrogated as to why we thought it was average and the fact that they will get into trouble. Restaurant also has no atmosphere, far to chain like. Most uncalled for and will never go back.

Thank nadine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonl905, Owner at SUKI Sushi & Asian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Good Day Nadine

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor. We encourage constructive criticism from all guests, this allows us the opportunity to rectify any issue on our side to ensure a dining experience of the highest standards.
Concerning the harsh blue lighting , this is a signature feature of our building, in winter this colour will be changed, for a warmer colour. We are saddened by the news of your below par experience at our establishment.
We apologise for the manner in which you were approached following your response to the questionnaire. We hold customer satisfaction in high regard and attempt to rectify any possible issues before guests leave, ensuring that all leave happy. We apologise for the manner in which this may have been conveyed to you.

Regards

Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

The new Suki restaurant. Enjoyed it. But it wasn’t fantastic. Had problems with service. Took an HOUR to get our food. ??
Was it as great as some other places in PE? No. It wasn’t.
But i still actually enjoyed it. It wasn’t bad.

Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Baked scallops was divine, red thai pork curry & the Morroco roll sushi was also great. Good service, wonderful interior decorations as well, will be back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SUKI Sushi & Asian Cuisine also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to SUKI Sushi & Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing