We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and exceptional food”

SeaFood at The Plettenberg
Ranked #10 of 107 Restaurants in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced. The menu - designed by The Collection's award-winning Executive Chef Peter Tempelhoff and his team - places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives SeaFood at The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure to return to The Plettenberg Hotel for our Anniversary on 23 – 27 September 2017. We arrived well before check-in and after our welcome coffee and cappuccino we decided to have lunch at Seafood Restaurant.

We ordered a bottle of Gabrielskloof Rosebud which was excellent. We ordered the Charcuterie platter which consisted of homemade bread, cold meat cuts, marinated olives and pesto. The butter was exquisite and well worth a mention. We also ordered the Sherry caramel glazed pork belly starter with LM prawn, blackened cauliflower, romesco sauce and sultanas.

We had our Anniversary dinner in the wine cellar (pre-booked and arranged). The ambience in the wine cellar was very intimate and romantic and the perfect venue to celebrate our Anniversary.

We had a bottle of Terra del Capo Pinot Grigio which is one of our favourite wines.

I ordered two starters:
Blackened Tuna Tataki with miso, apple, crispy seaweed, wakame dressing and fresh mustard seeds.
Chevin goat’s cheese & spinach ravioli with hispi cabbage, fresh carrot sauce, pine nuts & rocket.

My husband had the Laingsburg lamb which consisted of deboned braised lamb shank, lentil risotto, pumpkin seed gribioche & pickled honey.
For desert we had a five cheese platter delivered to our suite.

For the duration of our stay, apart from the amazing breakfasts we had a club sandwich for lunch which consisted of free range chicken mayonnaise, bacon, tomato and fried egg with a green salad & toasted seed vinaigrette and triple cooked potato chips with parmesan and garlic aioli.

Our remaining two dinners we ordered in advance in the afternoon to be served in our suite.

I had the Bouillabaise which consisted of a spicy local fish broth, sourdough croutons, harissa rouille &dehydrated tomatoes. I had the Blackened tuna Tataki twice and the Chevin goat’s cheese & spinach ravioli.

My husband had the local line fish with steamed octopus, red pepper fondue, buttered potatoes, bacon veloute and vegetables. He also had the Mosselbay Sole with pan fried calamari, leeks, onion puree, brown butter almonds, buerre blanc and vegetables.

He had toasted white chocolate crème brulée which consisted of black pepper shortbread, macerated strawberries. Two times.

Our verdict:

Each and every dish was absolutely divine with a perfect combination of flavours. It was in our opinion above five star. The fresh ingredients combined with professional knowledge of fine dining cooking and flair was apparent in each and every dish. Each dish was beautifully presented.

The staff that served us deserves a special mention – they knew us by surname at breakfast, lunch and dinner. We want to thank Baloyi, Michael, Ace and Honest for their outstanding service and true and heartfelt hospitality.

We cannot wait to return to The Plettenberg Hotel and Seafood restaurant to sample on the divine creations this restaurant proudly produce.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear zerwickrenatevictor,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review.

We always take care to share feedback we receive from guests with our staff and sharing your feedback, specifically with the chef and his team, has been a pleasure.

We are truly happy that you had such an amazing experience with us, both with the food on offer and the staff complement. We are very proud of our team and the way they constantly strive to deliver the level of service that our guests deserve and to which you can attest.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your next visit.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Great food from an excellent hotel. The facilities are great and all staff made us feel very welcome. They have a great terrace unfortunately it was a little too chilly for us but must be fantastic in the summer months.

Thank Mick1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Mick1966,

Thank you for the lovely review.

Our wonderful team at The Plettenberg Hotel go to great lengths to ensure all guests visiting us feel at home. Combining this hospitality with the facilities on offer ensures that guests have the best possible experience with us.

We are indeed very fortunate to be situated in a spot that affords some of the best coastal views in South Africa. Partaking of our wonderful cuisine while gazing out at the magnificent view makes for a truly memorable experience.

The terrace is absolutely stunning during the warmer months as you imagined; we are also very lucky in that Plettenberg Bay does have a fairly mild climate which allows us the use of our outdoors space during most of the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your next visit.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We were staying in the Plettenberg Hotel which is a little tucked away at the bottom of a road so for convenience we decided to eat for two nights in the SeaFood restaurant. The staff are attentive and very helpful, the food is great but the restaurant is let down by a very limited menu. On our second night, several of the choices were sold out at 7pm so for main course there was a choice of two fish dishes or steak. What we had was very good but on our third night we found another restaurant with a much more comprehensive menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Discerninglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Discerninglady,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our restaurant.

The Plettenberg Hotel is situated roughly 500m from the Main Road with all its shops and restaurants, providing just the right amount of privacy and quiet to our guests while still being near enough the town centre that guests can explore on foot.

Our staff is constantly striving to be as attentive as possible in order to provide guests with an amazing dining experience, this of course aided by the excellent cuisine prepared by our highly qualified kitchen team.

We do apologize for not having the full menu available during your second night dining with us - please rest assured that this is not the standard we adhere to and that we pride ourselves on ensuring full availability of all menu items daily.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the quality of the food and the service during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The atmosphere and the setting of restaurant is phenomenal. The quality of the food was outstanding. I ordered from the special and it was a the Nepalese Lamb curry and it was one of the best meals I had in a very long time. For a Indian dish as well, knowing the cuisine inside out with my family members owning Indian restaurants in the UK, outstanding. The staff were very friendly and had smiles on their faces.

The price isn't bad either for the quality you are getting. Definitely recommend it.

Thank Shuheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Shubeb,

Thank you for the lovely compliments given. We always make sure to vary the offerings at our restaurant and our weekly curry evenings have been extremely popular all around.

The quality of the food can be ascribed to the innovation and dedication of our Chef and his skilled team, who all view cooking as an art. Our restaurant team in turn delivers a personalized service with the aim of ensuring all guests have a wonderful dining experience with us.

We wish you all the best on your future travels and hope to welcome you back at SeaFood at The Plettenberg one day.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is one of the highlights of a visit to Plett...go eat and drink in the best of the best...service is excellent and the atmosphere sublime...don't stint on your choices, and be prepared to pay a huge bill...but it is worth it...

Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Jane W,

Thank you for the lovely compliments given.

It is our most ardent wish that all guests who visit us leave here feeling that they have participated in an exquisite event, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner.

We are so pleased to read that you had such an amazing experience as this is what we strive to provide to all our guests. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a repeat performance.

Kind regards,
MJ, Wiida and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaFood at The Plettenberg also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to SeaFood at The Plettenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing