We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meandering Moose Lodging(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Hideaway(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinook Wind Cabins(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveler rating
714
360
112
37
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
360
112
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgift shopbeautiful hotelfree shuttleland tourmain lobbyhuge fireplacea mountain view roomwalking trailsviewing deckmountain rangebase camp bistroroyal caribbeanshuttle servicemountain siderocking chairsmt mckinleywake up call
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Comfortable, simple room. Beds and amenities adequate, but. It luxurious. North facing view of Denali and mountain range hypnotic. Shuttle service to Talkeetna every 30 minutes. Gift shop has the usual stuff, but some interesting indigenous art.
I recommend the guided nature hike around the lakes.
Forsaken restaurant excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments and are so glad we could be a part of your trip to Alaska. Thank you again for your feedback and your business. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Our stay provided an amazing view of Denali in hopes to be in the 30%. The shuttle service picked us up from the train and we walk into a crackling fire and the view on the observation deck. The lodge is a large spacious place, having many buildings. Our room ended up being in the East wing 2nd floor (which is the ground floor) providing a magnificent view of the mountain. I'm not sure if all the other lodge buildings had this view.

The room was decently clean (there was an odd stain on the carpet) and neat. We had a fridge, microwave, and tv. They provided a gift shop and coffee bar in the lobby area. There were small trails to hike around the complex. Definitely use bug spray and bring a bear bell. Wildlife can be seen on the complex.

They had an on-site restaurant that was good. It was all we ate because the shuttle service ended at 5:30, but most of our tours ended at 6pm so honestly, it was hard to eat anywhere else.

I would stay here again. I would suggest to a friend. I would also rent a car so I could do more after 5:30pm.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Haley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and leave such a great review. We are pleased to hear that you had good weather while here and were able to become part of the 30% club.

As you mentioned our complimentary shuttle typically ends at 5:45 PM. We have found that this is when most of the gift shops, museums and attractions in town usually start closing. If anyone would like to go into town later than this for dinner we have a great relationship with a local taxi company and see it as a way of working with local businesses and contributing money back into the community.

We sincerely appreciate the mention that you would recommend us to friends and hope that if you are ever in the area again you will stop in and say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We stopped at this lodge for lunch a s I had read about the property and knew it offered a great view of Denali. It was a clear day and the view was AMAZING!!! The food and service was also excellent so we decided to change our plans and stayed one night. Very special property and I highly recommend a trip on the Hurricane Turn train in Talkeetna. It was amazing and so worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindaj12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review. We are so glad to hear that we could become a small part of your trip in Alaska. We will pass along your kind words to everyone on our team, especially those working in the restaurant. Enjoy the rest of your time in Alaska and have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived here on the last day of our 3 day pre-cruise package. We were late getting there so everything seemed rushed.

From the moment of arrival staff was helpful and kind and the room had perks like a warming light in the bathroom.

The views from our room were very nice. Breakfast the next day was okay.

A very nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank dbbohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We stayed two nights and just loved it! The view of Denali was stupendous. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The beds were comfy, pillows great (gave you 3 different to choose from). The fish and chips in the Bistro were one of the best we have ever had. We went on a zip-lining adventure which was also awesome. We had taken the train and especially appreciated their taking our suitcases early and take them to the train, so we could go explore the town of Talkeetna.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimmergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherman701, Public Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. It sounds like you were able to fit a lot in while you were here and were so glad to hear that everything went so well. We will pass along your kind words to our staff at the front desk, in the restaurant and to our bell staff. We hope the rest of your vacation went as spectacular as it did in Talkeetna. If you are ever in Alasak again, please stop by and say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews