We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very Amazing experience

This Brooklyn born woman thought this might be fun but was scared too. Bears are not in my Milieu... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2021
JoanP423
,
Rye, New York
via mobile
Amazing experience

This was the highlight of our 12 day dream Alaskan vacation. We were a little hesitant as we were... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2021
ering485
,
Naperville, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 163 reviews
  
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
162
0
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
162
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake clark national park bear viewing amazing experience clams experienced pilot flight safety remote area felt safe the whole time took pictures their natural habitat alaska trip martin cubs mother landing volcano feet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

This Brooklyn born woman thought this might be fun but was scared too. Bears are not in my Milieu. My boyfriend really wanted to do it and somehow I said “Yes”
The flight was excellent. Flying in a 6 seater was scary too . We flew to Clark National park in the foggy misty rain . Very smooth flight . I felt comfortable in our captains hands . He was an excellent experienced pilot . As a bonus he flew us over Grewingk Glacier which was quite a beautiful bonus ,
We saw 5 bears up close . But the exceptional experience was when three bears walked up on the shore . A mama and her two Cubs . She Dug a bed for them and then breast fed then until all three huddled together in to sleep . It couldn’t get better viewing than this .
Very special to see bears in their natural habitat.
Go go and don’t worry . You will be fine and enjoy a great experience

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank JoanP423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

This was the highlight of our 12 day dream Alaskan vacation. We were a little hesitant as we were already spending a lot of money on this trip but it was worth every penny without a doubt. We had an up close and personal encounter with bears on a remote area near Lake Clark National Park. We felt safe the entire time. Martin was a very experienced pilot and guide. We walked about a mile through mud and shallow water in the provided boots. It was not hard at all. The close up pictures and of our family are something we will cherish forever. Don’t miss this experience.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank ering485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

We researched and read many reviews for the best bear viewing in Alaska and found "Scenic Bear Viewing". Prior to scheduling a day, we had some questions and concerns. Martin responded promptly, assuringly and thoroughly months ahead. We scheduled our tour for Tuesday, July 6, 2021. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate that early morning and Martin apologized for the delay. Since we had a flight out that night from Anchorage (5 hour drive), we had a decision to make about whether to stay. Martin did not sway us, was patient and understanding. We were most impressed with his emphasis on flight safety and the caution exercised. Our story could have ended there had we driven off. About one hour later, we were informed to head on over to the Homer airport. The weather cleared and the trip was on! We got outfitted with boots (waders) and climbed aboard with another very nice couple. The takeoff was flawless as the skies cleared even more. We flew across the inlet to a remote area where the brown bears hunt for clams. Imagine landing on a beach in paradise. The adventure began without delay. We spotted several bears immediately. I will leave what transpired to the imagination, only to say that the experience is the stuff off dreams and fantasies. Martin was informative, interesting, and quite reassuring in the presence of wild beasts that could use you as a frisbee at free will. His calm demeanor accompanied a profound enthusiasm for these amazing animals. We had plenty of time for photography and videography for the duration and any questions we could divine. It became obvious during our outing that Scenic Bear Viewing stood considerably above and beyond other tours. We enjoyed a relaxing lunch while Martin shared more of his experiences. As the tide rose and the wind picked up, our best bear friends bade us farewell for the day and we prepared for the return trip to Homer. This ranked tops in my lifetime as the most spectacular, jaw-dropping, unbelievable, out-of-this-world flight. You will see why when you fly it, weather permitting. So this ranks as one of the most memorable days of my life. Just pinch me. It was exceptional, thrilling and elevating - no pun intended. You’ll experience a great round trip flight of a lifetime with unmatched views and an experience with these gentle giants that will stay with you forever. “Scenic Bear Viewing” says it all. But expect even more, and then celebrate. This was the grand finale of our Alaskan trip. Don’t forget to bring an extra battery and keep your fingers on the camera shutter!

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank BostonMarathon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

This was a trip of a lifetime! Book now - you will not regret it. We did this as part of our Alaska vacation and it was a highlight for sure. Martin was professional, the booking process was efficient and the morning out was nothing short of spectacular. We were in Lake Clark National Park with over 6 bears in their natural habitat. Martin took care of us - from a wonderful flight to a safe landing to bear viewing to safety tips. He also took pictures of us and the bears and immediately shared them. It is an experience I would recommend to anyone! Thank you for a fabulous day.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank TBWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2021

What a great day! Martin is an excellent guide and pilot. Beautiful flight over and back with a tour of the mountains on the return trip. Several hours on the ground, got up close (15 feet or so) to several brown bears that were digging for clams on the beach.

We recommend Martin 100%!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews